Mrinal Soni: Breathing Life into Creatures and Inspiring Animators Everywhere!

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive
5 min readOct 21, 2023

What inspired your career?

I’ve been fond of Sketching/Drawing from a very young age. Later movies like Transformers/Jurassic Park made me more curious about these things. Earlier I was jumping over different things like Graphic design, Video Editing etc but when I found out we had courses for Animation in India, I then enrolled myself into one and did my Bachelors in Animation only.

What’s the most interesting project you’ve worked on besides INSTINCTION?

Recently, I also got to work on a highly anticipated Netflix TV series but it’s still in works so I can’t name it! I loved working on it even if it was for a short period of time.

What’s your passion outside of work?

I love doing different type of things which are not common. For many years I had trained in Freestyle Football. Later I got into Calisthenics and still love it!

What’s your favorite music genre?

I don’t have a particular favorite genre. It depends on my mood and I randomly switch the songs. But to mention some are Vocal trap music, slow Bollywood songs and sometimes I watch Beat boxing videos too.

What accomplishment are you most proud of, personally or professionally?

For me, making a career in the Animation industry is my biggest accomplishment. In the beginning, Myself and my family had been skeptical; but now we are relieved after everything worked out!

What’s something you hope to achieve in the future?

I really want to work in one of the Transformers movies.

What’s something surprising people may not know about you?

Although I may seem like a very introvert and shy guy at first by once I open up with someone I can be a very fun person to be with.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

The best advice I received as an artist was that your work speaks for itself, so never stop practicing and working on personal pieces to improve.

What’s something you wish you had more time for?

Although it’s still not late but I wish I had started traveling sooner.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned in your career so far?

I have learned it’s necessary not to be confined to any particular style in terms of Animation. So slowly I am trying to get into other animation styles like cartoony, acting etc.

What are some notable projects/companies you’ve worked with?

Last year I got to work on a Netflix movie named “Inumber number : Jozi Gold”, After that got to work on an unannounced Disney movie and recently worked on a Netflix TV Series which is also under contract so cannot name it yet.

Where did you grow up and where do you live now?

I was born in Jaipur. The capital city of the state Rajasthan, in India. I grew up in Jaipur and still live here!

What’s your favorite travel destination and why?

Being an Anime enthusiast I seriously want to visit Japan at least once.

Do you have any pets, and can you tell us about them? (send pics)

I don’t have any pets currently but I do love Dogs. In my last studio in Hyderabad, India we found a small puppy in the garden area. So me and my friend started taking care of her feeding her everyday and making sure to go and meet her even on weekends. We named her “Kuchchu”.

Kuchchu

What’s an interesting fact or hobby about you?

Other than Calisthenics and working out, I love sketching and collect Anime/Superhero figurines.

What’s your favorite film or TV show, and why?

It has to be Transformers. I loved the recent Transformers: Rise of the Beasts. I have always been fascinated by Transformers. Not just the movies but I loved watching the cartoon show also on television.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

Earlier I was planning to be an engineer but once I got to know about Adobe Photoshop, I instantly fell in love with it. So, I started learning it on my own by watching tutorials on Internet.
That along with my love for sketching made me realize I wanted to become an artist.

What’s a career highlight of yours?

Finally getting to work on live action movies is my biggest highlight! It still is. I have been trying my best to level up each day and it’s a great feeling once you achieve something.

What was a big hurdle you had to overcome in your career?

Until now I have been fortunate enough to get several work opportunities from the very beginning of my career. After doing my degree course in Animation it was hard for me to choose one specific department to make a career of. I was into hard surface modeling first but then got into animation and later developed a liking for basic rigging too.

What are your favorite video games?

My all time favourite game would be Prince Of Persia : warrior Within but currently I just play Rocket League with one of my friends.

If you could be any dinosaur, which would you be and why?

Being a vegetarian and having slightly long neck. I believe I should be Brachiosaurus. But jokes aside just like Brachio I would like to keep my Head up high and try to take big steps in my career to achieve great heights!

Brachiosaurus

What is it like working for Hashbane?

I recently started working full time at Hashbane and was working part time for a few months. I instantly fell in love with Instinction as soon as I saw dinosaurs and the work being done here. Everybody is very supportive and I am loving working with so many different dinosaurs. The feedback and directions provided by Jade and Sanjay is very valuable and the support from Courtney have been very appreciable. Glad to be part of such an ambitious project and the amazing team!

--

--

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive

We Build. You Play. Dinosaurs in our Hearts and Crosshairs. @instinctiongame