The Inspirational Journey of Vikas Kumar: Creature Artist with a Career Rooted in Visual Effects and Gaming.

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive
4 min readOct 21, 2023

What is it like working for Hashbane?

As an artist, you can’t ask for more than this. Every honest artist strives to create something exciting, every day wanting to learn something new, and this is the best place to fulfill my desires. Most importantly, my ideas and approach are welcomed by Sanjay and Jade, which gives me an extra boost to do even better. I think that’s the spark. I am fortunate enough to be a part of the Instinction project.

What inspired your career?

First time I got introduced to a computer was in 2011 when I watched a movie called Avatar. Those visual effects attracted me, and I put my mind to it and wanted to do the same. So that’s how I started learning all about 3D visual effects and gaming back in 2016, and later I found my interest in creature sculpting and development.

What’s the most interesting project you’ve worked on besides Instinction ?

Instinction, of course, 1917, The One and Only Ivan, Love and Monsters, Prehistoric Planet, Forspoken (PS5).

What’s your passion outside of work?

Playing with my drones and my 3D printer.

What’s your favorite music genre?

Rajasthani folk song, Indian music.

What accomplishment are you most proud of, personally or professionally?

Seeing my name in the credits for the movie 1917, which won an Oscar for Best Visual Effects.

What’s something you hope to achieve in the future?

I want to make a CG short film based on animal life.

What’s something surprising people may not know about you?

Writing poetry (sorrow, peace or tranquility)

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received?

“Review yourself.” I got trained by Moby Francis for animal sculpting, and he kept saying that I should review myself and not wait for anyone to come and tell me what is wrong with my work. I should find it and fix it. Those words changed everything for me, and I still remind myself of these lines. It always helps me bring out the best in me.

What’s something you wish you had more time for?

I wish I could have learned piano or mandolin, but I will learn in the near future.

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned in your career so far?

Be humble, be hungry for knowledge, work hard, and just work hard.

What are some notable projects/companies you’ve worked with?

MPC, Hydra Studios

Where did you grow up and where do you live now?

I grew up in a small town called Ratangarh in Rajasthan. Currently, I am living in Jodhpur, Rajasthan.

What’s your favorite travel destination and why?

Uttarakhand, peaceful and mountainous.

Do you have any pets, and can you tell us about them?

I don’t have pets, but my family and I try to make sure that we help street animals like dogs and cows to get food and drinking water in this desert heat. In Rajasthan, the temperature goes up to 50°C. It’s hard for them to survive, so we do our best to make daily arrangements for drinking water for them. I believe some of the cows love us.

What’s an interesting fact or hobby about you?

I love to play badminton and cricket.

What’s your favorite film or TV show, and why?

Film: Interstellar, especially the way they connected space science and time travel with love. It’s all imaginary, but it all makes sense at some point. Great story and direction, a genius movie. Also, Piku (Indian), Disney’s Soul and Inside Out. TV series: Breaking Bad and Friends.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

I wanted to build airplanes when I was a kid. My friend Deepak and I were so passionate about it. Luckily, he ended up as an aerospace engineer and is living the dream. I moved to another city, Jodhpur, for higher education, and then I found my passion for film making.

What’s a career highlight of yours?

Till now, The One and Only Ivan (2019) was a big break for me. It was my first-ever project, and things kept changing after that in terms of learning and recognition. I have same feeling and enthusiasm for INSTINCTION project after so long.

What are your favorite video games?

God of war.

If you could be any dinosaur, which would you be and why?

Quetzalcoatlus, the largest flying creature. What else could I ask for? Clear dominance. 😁

Senckenberg Museum, Frankfurt

--

--

Hashbane Team
Hashbane Interactive

We Build. You Play. Dinosaurs in our Hearts and Crosshairs. @instinctiongame