My journey with ‘’3D Design’’

Bishal Kar
Hashworks
Published in
7 min readAug 7, 2018

This blog is about how I learned art and how I got more interested in “3D Design”

A rookie in all terms

Being in India, I come from a background where I have faced all the cultural activities going around in my family. My father in his young age had a very imaginative mind and was always passionate about classical design and arts. Being a Government employee, my father took time out for his theater (drama) and enjoys reading novels. My sister is a trained singer. My family has always influenced me to stay culturally active.

My father followed one popular artist, Abanindranath Tagore who was the nephew of Rabindranath Tagore. He was a accomplished painter renowned for his ancient paintings.

Night at the Shalimar — The Emperor Shah Jahan by Abanindranath Tagore

From childhood, I was good at drawing sketches. So, my father had me join an art school which I attended every Sunday. Here, I completed 5 years of a diploma. Alongside I was also completing my studies in my school. Looking at the things I was able to do with a pencil and brush, my teachers always encouraged to draw more often.

Back in those days, words such as Photoshop and Illustrator were unfamiliar to me. I always had a passion to go ahead and discover more beautiful designs. I loved reading comics and always had enormous interests in the visuals that magazines had. I thought how on earth people create paintings and showcase their talent digitally. Those were the days when the internet was new, I used to follow the exceptional illustrations and sketches created digitally. I used to play video games for hours to understand the feeling of art and design that goes into creating high definition games.

I was always influenced with a computer, what a computer can do with its powerful techniques and was always driven with the word, ‘’Animation’’.

Stepping into a world of design and creativity

Fast forward to a few years after finishing my higher secondary. I joined a graduation course in Animation and Visual Effects from MAAC. Being from an open family, I never had to worry about the field I picked. I am very grateful to my parents that they supported me with all the choices I made.

1st year of college

In the first year, I learned how to do sketches from three different perspectives. Although, I was aware of the curriculum and a little about 3D before joining this course.

Benefits of sketching:

Sketches actually make us mentally fit for design conceptualization. Sketching and drawing is a great way to improve our imaginative skills and start thinking in an unconventional way. These can be really helpful for personal development and problem solving. Sketching can even improve our holistic health. Sketching also improves our communication skills. Since, it not easy to communicate an idea with words all the time, drawing it definitely solves the problem.

2nd year of college

During my 2nd year, I studied digital film-making, photography, editing and composting image, and video editing. Photography, taught me a lot of things including how to set lights for a scene. We were taught the 3 point lighting concept as a basic module.

These things made me curious to know about 3D. I was eager to know how a game creator invites us into that real world, where we are empowered to do everything we want.

I am sure you know the game that I am talking about. Yes, GTA (Grand Theft Auto).

Most of you have played this game and would have thought how such open world games are created, isn't it ? Well, I was one of them.

3rd and final year of college

By this time, I already made my mind to focus completely on 3D and started reading more blogs. All through my years in college I had seen my seniors struggle with tools. Looking at this, I was apprehensive about my own ability to grasp the tools quickly. Since my exposure was limited to Photoshop, Illustrator and After Effects, learning 3D tools were entirely a new subject for me.

By the end of the the year I finally learnt 3D and followed the pipeline of a 3D project. It didn’t happen overnight, I went through a lot of sleepless nights to become an expert in delivering models, creating textures, lighting, rendering a scene and animation of the characters. I also learnt how to import realistic CGI into a VFX footage. A much deserved thanks to my faculty who showed so much of patience.

Below, I have mentioned the 3D tools that I have used so far. Also, the route through which I was able to hone my skills as a 3D professional.

Tools for 3D that I use

  1. 3D’s Max

In the beginning of my career, I started with 3D’s max. It is a professional software for making 3D animations, models, games, and images. This is the most basic software for the 3D platform. Through 3D’s max, I understood the visualization of an architectural 3D product, which gave a boost to my 3D career.

3D’s Max software overview

2. Autodesk Maya

Soon, thereafter I got to learn about another tool i.e Autodesk Maya.

Why I use Maya more than 3d’s max?

The process of Maya is similar to 3d’s Max but it has a more advanced user interface and workflow. The animation controls are much better in Maya than 3D’s max. Some will find one to be more intuitive over the other.

There are additional difference which I will talk about in an upcoming post.

Autodesk Maya software overview

3. Zbrush

I completed my first organic model in Maya but then realized that it needed more details which can only be done through sculpting. The trendy tool that I found and watched tons of tutorials is Zbrush. It’s a tool through which we can sculpt a model in an exceedingly high resolution to add realistic details.

Zbrush software overview

Tools like Blender as well as Cinema 4d are important for any CGI artist for achieving photo-realistic renderings. Furthermore, Blender is a great open source 3D software for creating high-poly modeling for free. It has bunch of shortcuts and helps in rapid modelling.

Cinema 4D has a lot of options with photo-realistic renderings and also the render engine is amazing to deal with.

These are some of the best tools that I have used so far. I feel these tools are enough to be a professional 3D Designer. There are lot of extra render engines through which we can improve photo-realistic renderings. All these needs practice and takes a lot of time to understand the pipeline.

“Turn your wounds into wisdom.” -Oprah Winfrey

My own experience in 3D design

This is a 3D character which I modeled in my final year after gaining core knowledge in 3D design. It is a practice that takes years to understand. The more you practice, more you become adept in delivering high-resolution 3D designs.

I will let share the steps I followed to build such detailed models in my upcoming posts. Also, you can expect a lot posts in the pipeline regarding how I evolved from modeling to rendering a product.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yorEAh0ISE4&t=31s

This is my work link where I have used all the 3D tools that I mentioned above. This link will meticulously represent the journey I went through in 3D design.

A lot of people miss judge that 3D is only about modeling with the given shortcuts. There is a lot more to discover in modeling, texturing, lighting, rigging, and animation. Knowledge of 2D tools is essential. Mastering colors, materials, textures, light setup needs a lot of time.

Trust me, its an interesting journey. If you have a creative mind and you love bringing ideas to life, I suggest that you take a step towards 3D Design.

Until next time…

Cheers!!!

--

--