How I fell in love with programming? Thank you IMAD!

IMAD
Hasura
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2017

Here’s what Amrutha, a Computer Science student, had to share about the IMAD course -

“ Honestly it all started when my classmate Anand posted the advertisement link on our whatsapp group. I don’t usually open such links but the name IMAD was veryy unique(weird to be honest) , i just opened it. As soon as i watched the video, I was like, why not… just give it a try…

Im a CSE 3rd year student but Im not that into programming while i love networking. So app development was not something that was supposed to be in my favourite list. But the syllabus had a mixture of both programs and network.

I made all my friends register so that i could write the exam with them and not alone :P Slowly as classes progressed, they too began showing an interest. We just learn a cream of the topics in our collage… and at IMAD, we got a better deeper view on certain topics and the bestt part github.

Usually when I read that magazine called OPENSOURCE, I often see them mentioning github but didn’t have anyy idea of what that was.. wooof I finallyy can understand their articles too.. assignments were too goood…. i answer them n ill save them. Next day i’ll open it and ill change few answers. Final submission will be a mixture of rights and wrongs. I used to search the net a lott to find out the right answers and i’ll write it down in a notebook. Finally when answers are out, i know where i was wrong n were i was right. I wont forget it then.

Making the app was another story… debugging the program and carefullyy checking the order of the program of mine and Tanmai’s and yet i wont find the error. Out of no where, ill catch them. Ill never forget that week of practicals.. it was Onam in kerala and i was with my cousins… thank god they didnt murder me because every day after 6, I will be busy with my lap doing the practicals and making notes…

Examination day: we 6 of us had to go to Angamali, Ernakulam district of Kerala to write the exam. I swearr if not for IMAD, we would never get that amaazing day. Traveling with studies and foodies. Writing the exam and winking at each other because all the questions were discussed by us before… and then coming out with excitement since it went good for all of us…

IMAD journey was tooo goood and it ended too quickly… My parents still mock at me by commenting that if I showed an interest for my collage lessons like the way I showed to Imad, I could have topped … Lol
I swear i wanted to share my story and my happiness with the Imad team ever since the exam was over… thankuuu soooo much for giving me this chance to explore loots (never knew servers were this greaat..)
Ofcourse, I do have few doubts of JSON and certain implementations but since i have gained a proper foundation with this course, I think I can manage it and find the answers by myself…

Im just sad that the course was of a very small duration that we had to rush and finish things… If it was a bit more lengthy, we could have learned loot more and also could have done a lot practially..

Thankyouuuuuuuuuuuùu sooo muchh XD
Amrutha Sujith”

IMAD is back on July 24th. Register here! All students who complete the course successfully will receive an IIT Madras certification. The top 5% of students in the course will be eligible for an 8-week product development internship at Hasura.

Build powerful applications in minutes with Hasura. Check it out here: https://hasura.io

--

--

IMAD
Hasura
Writer for

IMAD makes app development accessible, easy & free for anyone willing to learn! Brought to you by IIT Madras (Dr. Gaurav Raina), NPTEL & Hasura (Tanmai Gopal).