An example CAD Model- http://blog.grabcad.com/blog/2012/05/22/models-we-love-impressive-variety-of-cad-models/

How to Start CAD Modelling

Coming from a beginner!

Jack Cornes
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2018

--

So, this is a full on beginners tutorial on how to start making your own models on a computer.

Around 3 months ago, I had NEVER even opened up a piece of CAD software. I was a true beginner.

First let’s explain some terms:

Computer-aided design (CAD), computer systems used to design and manufacture products.

You can use CAD for many things… Planning some changes you want to do to your house, or even designing your own skatepark (like I’ve done!). I’m not great at drawing so I find it the most accurate way to get my ideas out of my head and in some way I can share with others.

My CAD Skatepark

1. Choose your Weapon!

The first step of getting into CAD is choosing the right software for you.

Now there are many many videos you can watch on youtube to help you choose, but it’s important to decide if you want to spend any money or not.

I would always recommend finding a FREE software first.

I use AutoDesk Fusion 360, which is fantastic!

There are tonnes of tutorials online, and it has a fantastic support network. Not to mention, you can access it for free if you say you are using it for personal projects when you sign up.

MAKE SURE you don’t use it on the free version if you are then in anyway making money from your designs.

2. Choose your First Design

The standard first ever design is a castle. You can give it walls, turrets, etc and it’s a shape that can teach you how to do most basic things.

The way CAD Modelling usually works, is you draw the shape in 2D format, and then you either stretch it to make it 3d, or revolve it around a point again to make it 3D.

3. Experiment!

Once you’ve made your first ever basic design, come up with something which you’d really like to make. Like a skatepark!

Then just dive in. You’ll hit a few brick walls but when you do, just google how to do things, and there’s plenty of help.

--

--