Melissa Ploysophon
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readNov 15, 2014

--

9 Things I’ve learned at Les Gaulois

Salut ! I can’t believe there’s only one more week left for us lofters (and I’ve been having such an awesome time that I’m just barely making my debut on this blog now)! I can already feel the depression easing in as I count down the days until I have to go back to New York… do I really have to leave?

Tears aside, let me tell you about my experience at Les Gaulois thus far. For those who don’t know, the agency is part of Havas Group, but otherwise operates independently. I’m an art director working under a team of two super cool creative guys that go by Julien and Lilian, or Juju and Lili if you prefer. I’ve had the opportunity to work on some good briefs alongside other creative teams just like one of the boys… and girls. I’ve definitely learned a lot so far. Here are a few things that stand out:

  1. Lunches are serious business.
Just the appetizer: pâté, bread, butter, dry sausage, and wine (not pictured)

They take two hour (if not at least 1 hour) lunches that typically consist of three courses. Dessert might as well be mandatory. We go somewhere, sit down, eat and most importantly, we don’t talk about work. It does the creative brain good.

2. There aren’t a lot of meetings.

A meeting room. It might as well be used for something else…

My LotusNotes calendar is usually packed with meeting after meeting, but not here. Meetings are pretty casual and informal. This gives us more time to do focus on the work and “be creative.” The account people know what’s up and try not to bother us as much too. Say what!?

3. The creative process is universal.

Words of wisdom found in an office.

“The Creative Process: 1. It’s great. 2. It’s tricky. (I believe that is the correct translation.) 3. It’s shit. 4. I’m shit. 5. It’s not bad. 6. It’s great.” Also, I learned that “pas mal” or “not bad” is actually a good thing. The French don’t like to be overly enthustiastic. It’s almost insulting if you say, “OMG that is such a great idea! I love it!!”

4. The French also mourn the death of ideas.

RIP

We build a graveyard, say a few swear words, and try to move on with our lives, I mean the brief.

5. Contrary to popular belief, French people are really friendly.

Wall of hair. Snip off a piece of your hair and tape it according to your height. Become part of the family. Guess which one is mine.

They’ve accepted me, the American, and I’ve been initiated into their tribe. See above. But really, everyone has been super accommodating and welcoming saying hello’s and how are you’s in the corridors. I’ve also abandoned the handshake and adopted the kiss-kiss. Left, then right? Or is it the other way around?

6. They live and breath awards, not cigarettes.

I wish I had a picture of the Lions in the office, but this will have to do. They strive to do great work that will win awards. And they do. It’s a super motivating creative environment that really pushes everyone to do BETTER.

7. They know how to properly celebrate new business wins.

Smoked leg of ham, hoof still in tact.

New York, I think it’s time we ditch chips and salsa and get one of these bad boys. And while we’re at, we should also bottle our own beer.

8. They know how to party.

Les Gaulois 1 year anniversary party.

Foie gras, open bar, ‘nuff said.

9. LotusNotes. The struggle is real, even internationally.

“LotusNotes misbehaving” by Didier. Toner on paper.

Truth.

--

--