Nicolas Gagé
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2017

--

#AfrenchspyinNYC

#JFK — Where it starts…

That’s it! After an 8 hour flight, I finally got to New York. The #HavasLofts experience can start, and I am so ready for it! On my way to my apartment, traffic is not even disturbing me. The window is open and the sun shines on my face! Brooklyn Bridge is a nice way to enter the city. The buildings behind make me feel like I am going to live an amazing experience.

Fun fact : 1 in every 38 Americans live in NYC.

#HOUSING

The apartment is located in the financial district, one block from The World Trade Center & Wall Street. For a Parisian who commutes 1 hour every day to get to Havas, being able to walk to work is an amazing feeling. A 20 minute walk to discover the city and feel like a real New Yorker.

Fun fact : The WTC is the highest skyscraper of the Western Hemisphere.

In Paris, “Place de la République” is my neighbour. In NYC, The World Trade Center is.

#OFFICE
Havas offices are located on 200 Hudson Street in Tribeca. It feels really funny to see Havas logo in the middle of Tribeca, and I am used to seeing the one in Puteaux for more than 3 years now. Creative agency and media agency are working in the same building. After a warm welcoming from the talent team, it’s time to discover the different floors. Two words : MAGIC KITCHEN. Food is everywhere here, cereales, bagels, coffee, candies, chips, tea, bread… Every one has breakfast in the agency which makes me feel like I am attending a hotel breakfast (love that).

Fun fact : New Yorkers drink 7 times more coffee than people in the rest of America.

Havas New York offices
200 Hudson Street

#PEOPLE

Everyone is very warm and welcoming. The Havas Lofts programme is well known in the New York office and everyone is happy to make themselves available for a coffee / a talk as they are curious to know more about the differences between the 2 offices. I am like a spy in the building, shadowing people and attending meetings that give me a better picture of the US market and how we approach things compared to France. I’ve been able to attend meetings in the Philips team and in the Affiperf team. It is interesting to see how people approach digital strategies here in the US. We speak the same language, ask the same questions to the publisher we work with and I like it! I will definitely grow up from this experience. When it comes to improving my accent, not sure yet…

Fun fact : There’s an Happy Hour every Thursday from 5 to 7 PM on the 8th floor. So, sorry, I need to go!

--

--