Gwen Jacquand
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readOct 29, 2014

--

Are u excited? Is it amazing?

Well, I did hesitate between amazing and exciting, thus those are the two words I have used the most since 4 days! And heard them quite a lot too!

But it’s so hard to not use them, since really this experience is so amazing and exciting :

- Getting to know new places :

Well, it’s my first time in NYC, and I’m not disappointed at all, it’s even a best surprise than I thought. As I was expecting an incredible and permanent crowd, the feeling is just the opposite; I won’t say quiet as right now in the office I can hear the famous firemen’s sirens, but so easy going.

It’s very easy to discover the city, since you understood uptown and downtown (well, that can’t take a while, when you know even in Paris I always get lost!). French team leave in Brooklyn Heights and the neighbourhood is so nice, full of coffee places, yoga schools and small shops. I even hesitate to buy a cute dog on a local “pet rescue” trunk (yeah, trunks are everywhere and selling everything), it’s a proof that I already feel like home!

Good morning NYC, from my bed

The agency looks also amazing, very creative, kind a Loft atmosphere with wood, industrial materials, metallic stairs. The agency offers so many meetings rooms (so jealous) that are an invitation to share ideas and stay a part of the day working with a team in a dedicated and cosy place.

creativity everywhere

- Getting to know new people :

Actually, from France too, as we are all part of different agencies from Havas (Les Gaulois, Global department, Affiperf). I never met those people before and now we share the same floor, every single morning, and above all we enjoy it.

From New York, I met so many nice people in few days. I still have work to do to remember all the names!

Welcoming was great, the experience is so amazing that everyone is very excited (told you!). Heather, my coach, is very attentive and I think we’re gonna get along very well. I have like a huge shadow-planning in order to meet so many people and discover how do they work, how do they handle projects. I’m so excited to share my experience too and my French habits (the good ones ;) ).

- Getting to know new processes and tools

That’s the plan for the end of the week, so stay tuned ;)

I can already say that strategies seem to really draw upon on datas and personas here. We do too back in France, but it appears more direct and straight to users needs, maybe because clients are mainly BtoC too.

magic kitchen

@for my digital team, don’t worry I’ll also speak about US food, and how corn-pudding could eventually win over a “raclette”.

(definitely, you can follow up my english improvements through the blog)

--

--