Be different- Rethink Relevant

Mariana Velasco
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2019

It’s the last week and this great experience is coming to an end. I knew that 4 weeks would pass quickly, but I didn’t think they’d go this fast.

This program has been a great opportunity, both personally and professionally.

I have been able to meet many people and learn a new way of thinking and working differently.

On one hand, despite being in different countries, we have very similar processes and issues. On the other hand, breaking my routine has allowed me to see different points of view and notice how important it is to adapt to and understand different cultures.

The agency team is made up of a diverse mix of personalities and identities that allow a holistic view of the different markets in the U.S.

With this global view, they can offer a full and integrated service.

Miami is the American city whose identity is created by different countries and cultures. República Havas is the same. The cultural diversity they have here, with employees from different backgrounds and experiences, allows them to contrast perspectives and create innovative ideas. It is clear the work is not only good because of the resources and tools we have, but because of the personalities.

Something I like here is that the agency works with many multicultural projects, and they need to adapt them to different markets (especially with the large Hispanic market in the U.S.). They identify cultural insights and create impactful content to be relevant and connect with this community.

In the time I was here, I was able to go to different trainings with the team. I went to Telemundo’s studios, where I was able to see how they work with full service accounts. They develop the branding, the creative idea, the brand media strategy, PR & social media content and the report of all the campaigns.

Working on accounts with a holistic view allows them create better brand storytelling, which benefits the clients because they can do better optimizations and have better knowledge of the brands.

There are so many things I would like to say about this unique experience, but I would like to thank Havas for this amazing program.

Thanks to the Global Talent Team that worked really hard to make everything perfect.

Thanks to the República Havas Media Team (Karen, Frances, Arman and Joel) for taking care of my stay here and making me feel very welcome.

I will never forget their support and willingness to make everything easier for me.

--

--