Behind each participant there is a famous coach

Gwen Jacquand
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readNov 19, 2014

Yes, if behind each successful man there is obviously a woman, behind each blessed participant, there is such a great coach.

So let me introduce the one who was so unfortunate to try every single day to understand what I said with my french accent! ;)

How would you sum up your role in the company in one sentence?

It’s not really one sentence, but more a vision on her role, and her everyday work

- On my former client, I did digital stuff as well, so my role and missions were very integrated, my fav thing will be to define the strategy and figure out the smartest communication plan accorded to it.

- Getting all the right people involved to activate that well. Working with the agency to find the right staff for a mission

- Having direct relationship with the client

I tried to compare with the vision I get about her job during these 3 weeks, and I figure out also this role of creating link between people, getting everyone together in order to get the perfect insights for clients and produce the best work.

What do you love about your job? What’s the best thing about working in this business? What’s the most rewarding part of your job?

Smart people,

smart ideas

And, for advertising in general: the best thing will be you’re using creativity and communication to solve business problems.

The “oh my gosh, that does it perfectly” feeling

For example, in my current project, I love being surprised by strategist, planners, creative…

The most rewarding part of my job is this favorite moment when our team is really excited by something and so is the client, after presenting.

Who or what are you inspired by professionally?

Vanessa, my mentor, great leader & creative, smart …

She cares about everyone she works with. She has all aspect you want to be as an account person.

I really love that inspiration, as it’s so important that the person who manage you get you inspired, and just lead you to give your best.

I also work in a non-profit organization, Defy Ventures, to help people formerly in prison, to build their own project.

It’s one of the 1st time that they have the opportunity to think creatively in what they want to do, the 1st time they have ability to do that & they are so passionate and excited, so committed…it makes me want to feel that same way about my work, to carry that passion in what I do.

What do you think the world will look like in 2050? And, what do you imagine the world of marketing / media will look like in 2050?

“I hope I will be retired with my grandkids!”

This specific question was really interesting to discuss on, comparing our points of views. And I really liked Heather’s feeling on things in general.

For Heather, everything happens so fast now, it seems like we will already be there in 10 years maybe. It’s quite hard to think about 40 years from now, as it will be so different.

So we debate on how things have already changed since 10 years, and how it will get evolved, even faster now:

  • How people will talk to each other?

For ex, the way we text, change the way we engage already, and it’s only been few years. Tomorrow, we will be covered in technology, connected, with wearable technology.

  • Personalization

For advertising, it also implies the ability to target more & more closely, to get a higher personalization. What about privacy, we may ask? If every data is available it could be such a meltdown…

  • Experience

In terms of brands, since quite everything will happen online, so in stores will have to offer a deep experience (not only grabbing thing). Some examples already show that trend:

o J crew liquor store: old bar, really beautifully designed, offered a whiskey

o Club Monaco on 5th avenue: little coffee shop, sell flowers too…

It’s no more only about the brand product, but about the service which is linked, the experience and the strength of the brand universe.

Last but not least: could you give me 3 inspirational words that sum up your vision of the agency!

It’s interesting that for this question, during the discussion, Heather has to write it down, that shows for me her strategic way of thinking, and this desire to give always her best, to be right/fair, trying to priories the words that came into her mind.

Vision

o for the agency: where we want to go

o for the clients: where we want to get them

o but also a cultural vision: where the world is going?

Lover of culture:

Always trying to learn about things while outside the advertising

Strategic :

A specific word regarding to account management

Thanks Heather

for your answers

and the care in general!

--

--