Bonjour New York !

Elsa Chiquello
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 14, 2019

Oh New-York. I can’t believe it has already been a week since I arrived in this city! Time flies so fast…

But first, let me introduce myself.

I’m Elsa, working as a Strategist Consultant at Socialyse Paris, the Social Media specialized agency of Havas Media Group. My job is to build meaningful content, media and influence social strategies for my clients in a various bunch of sectors: automotive, beauty, CPG, energy, fashion…

I have the amazing opportunity to visit my colleagues in the Socialyse New York agency for the month of June, thanks to the Havas Lofts program.

My objectives here are quite simple, yet not so little: discovering how the NYC agency is built, the differences with my home agency, meeting everyone, working with the NY unique way… Also, living in the Big Apple and getting to see / do / go / taste everything the city has to offer!
Will I be a true New-Yorker in a month? Let’s see!

HUDSON x CANAL: BEST PLACE TO WORK OF THE YEAR

Hudson x Canal village has been elected one of the best places to work in 2019 by AdAge. And it is understandable, as it is constantly working on what Havas can do to improve the workplace and to engage its talents with the agency.

There is a full program created on both professional (learning sessions, trainings), personal (meditation sessions, farmer market on Wednesdays) and team building (everyone seems to know each other, happy hours sponsored by a different agency every week).

My first impression with an outside perspective is the balance that allows Havas employees to partake in other activities besides work (some are yogi masters or have launched a business), and this is pushing them to be even more invested in their work here.

WALKING THROUGH THE NEW-YORK EXPERIENCE

And by walking, I mean literally walking everywhere, all the time! 140km (= 86 miles) in only a week, giving me the impression that every day is leg day

In the first week, I have been able to tick so much on my to-go-to list (which has the unbelievable ability to extend and have actually no end!) : Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, World Trade Center and the 9/11 Memorial (powerful emotion), Empire State Building, Time Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, High Line, the Vassals, Strawberry Fields, Museum of Natural History, Guggenheim Musuem…

And strolling by the many districts: SoHo, Tribeca, Financial District, Lower East Side, Chinatown, Little Italy, Meat Packing, Greenwich Village, NoHo, Hell’s Kitchen, Midtown, Upper East and West Sides, Harlem, Central Park… What a journey!

Is it me or is it all about giant drinks here?! Iced latte, bubble tea, green juices (just saying: broccolis are so good with pineapples!)… I’m currently obsessed with the Levain Bakery’s oatmeal raisin cookies.

Creating memories, eye photographing everything and saying yes to go on new adventures ! You can follow my journey on my Instagram account.

Can you tell how much i’m enjoying food here ?

--

--