Building meaningful relationships

Mariana Velasco
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 14, 2019

I can’t believe it’s been a week since I got off the plane to start this amazing experience.

Havas Lofts is a program that allows us to connect with people around the world, to share new ideas and discover the unique culture of each agency.

I’m very lucky to be hosted at República Havas, a strategy driven agency that offers a 360 service. It often seems complicated that all departments connect and work together on every project, but during this week I had the opportunity to enjoy the pleasant work environment and teamwork in this agency.

The company culture they have here demonstrates the commitment, hard work and enthusiasm of all employees.

Since I arrived, I have felt a really warm atmosphere.

On my first day, my mentors (Karen and Frances) introduced me to every employee in the office and explained to me the roll that everyone has. This presentation also included Jax, the mascot who is a beautiful and super friendly dog.

Everyone at this place makes you feel like part of this great family. When they receive a new collaborator for the first time, they have the tradition of signing a welcome letter. In my case, they also created a document where everyone included their tips and recommendations to make my stay in Miami more pleasant.

Another thing they do here is that every Friday someone brings breakfast to the office. On my first week, they welcomed me with “Tortilla de patatas” and “Tarta de Santiago” so that I don’t miss Spain. I really like it!

During this week I have seen how all departments work together to contribute with their own expertise to enrich their work and generate a fully integrated service. Sharing ideas and knowledge allows them to create better brand storytelling.

There is a strong connection from the moment of receiving a brief until the point of presenting the final campaign reports.

Something I like is that I don’t feel like just an observer. I’ve had the opportunity to give my point of view.

As they they say, “Life at Havas is about creating great work, Together”. We are #HavasTogether

It has only been a week and there is a lot to learn and see. Not only from the agency, but also from the city.

--

--