Bye Bye Bye (or see you soon) New York

Carlos Frota Melo
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readNov 16, 2018

Four weeks flew by! It seems like yesterday I was packing and landing for the first time in New York. I was taking the biggest professional adventure of my career and I am leaving with many experiences in the biggest city in the world.

I ❤ New York

LIKE A MOVIE STAR

Being in the most incredible city in the world, which was the inspiration for amazing songs and gave rise to series, could only inspire me. From the moment I received this destiny, I wanted this experience to be different from all the other trips. I could not really ask for more … New York welcomed me with open arms and I’m leaving by saying, see you soon!

New York is also known as the “big apple,” “the city that never sleeps,” “the capital of the world,” “the city where dreams are made,” but none of these titles are enough to describe this city. One thing is for sure, New York is undoubtedly one of the most trendy cities in the world. It steals our hearts with its unique skyscrapers that form an incredible skyline, historic buildings, parks, museums, galleries, the best shops in the world, emblematic monuments, people from all over the world (of all races and cultures), Broadway musicals, light and color, advertising everywhere (remember here), iconic yellow taxis and so on …

Every minute, it’s estimated that more than one hundred different languages are spoken in Time Square and I contributed to this. The experience was great on all levels, but I leave an open door to go back and live in the city with the sun! This opportunity has shown me what it is like to live in a city that is in the center of the world.

Walking on the street is always a surprise, as I’ve written here, and it makes me feel like I’m in a movie or TV series. When I went to Central Park for the first time, I quickly remembered scenes from “Angels in America,” walking on the streets of the Upper East Side could only make me think I was in “Gossip Girl,” my lunch hours walking in SoHo or Tribeca made me feel like a character from “Girls” and when I was walking down Fifth Avenue with my coffee, I thought I was going to meet Carrie Bradshaw from “Sex and the City”.

AN OPEN DOOR

Because of the endless list of things to do, I leave some things to discover next time. New York was on the top of my travel bucket list, and I was lucky enough to have that dream come true because of Lofts. Despite the program being a month, it was not possible to do everything on my list, so there are some things I will do the next time I come back for vacation.

There is always something happening in this city, leaving many new things to be discovered next time. I already know most of the spots, so when I come back I will really feel like a New Yorker.

CHARLIE AS A LOFTER

From my experience as a Lofter, beyond what I can immediately apply professionally, I am taking with me memories of the super interesting people I have met. I want to thank Michelle Perelman, my mentor, for helping me adapt and develop my goals. She helped me navigate this new culture, while at the same time giving me space to move freely.

Special thanks to the Ecselis and Affiperf teams for welcoming me and giving me fantastic tips about the city. Last, but not least, thank you to the entire #HavasLofts program team for organizing a 5 star trip!

LIKE FRANK SINATRA SAID!

The last thing I have to add is: “If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere. It’s up to you, New York, New York!”.

For my Havas colleagues who accompanied my adventure here and in my Instagram, I strongly advise you to get involved in this program. Clap Clap Havas! Thank you!

Obrigado New York! (Até já!)

--

--

Carlos Frota Melo
havas lofts

you think you know me, but you have no idea | #VidaDePublicitário | ninja coordinator @havas Lisbon advertising | marketing | social media