C stands for Chicago…and Culture!

Felicity Jeffery
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017
Night by Chicago.

You often wonder how the culture of a global organisation transcends countries or more simply, cultural trends? However, after 24 hours of travelling, too many bags of airline peanuts and two straight days of rain, when I walked through the doors at Grand and Wabash Ave, the palpable culture of the Havas Chicago office hit me like the aftermath of a deep-dish pizza!

Whether it is the lion’s head mural, the onsite candy store or the in-house barber and stylist (that’s right, for an avid lover of the blowout, I am in hair heaven!), Havas Chicago has created a haven that to any incomer, is like a home. A space that breeds creativity and fosters familiarity, friendship and hard work disguised as fun!

Havas Chicago has truly nailed Culture with a C.

Hold on for dear life….

Interested to see if this was just a Chicago specialty, I took to Google for some sage advice. Google entry: “Tips for fostering a great office culture”.

The most creative our online narrators got was: “having some form of greenery on your desk”, “personalising your desk with pictures of things that make you happy” or “having free snacks available”.

Whilst these may be good ideas for the most rudimentary of offices, they’re not things that bring out the personality of co-workers or a team spirit quite like the creative “16 walls” of the Chicago office. I’m still trying to figure out how there are 16 walls…someone said it, so maybe at week four I’ll have figured it out?!

Whilst Halloween might have a big part to play in the office buzz this week (I failed to receive the memo, so stay turned for my outfit!), there’s no question the space has a lot to answer for. Both in setting the tone and attracting a style of person to work here who knows how to have fun, be creative, but get stuff done!

Based on the adage that first impressions last, it’s fair to say that Chicago, you’ve won me over so far. I’m now excited to get stuck into some work, test my hat at client management Chicago style, and wrack up my membership points at the Havas Blowout Junkie salon….located on level four, near the elevators!

Where you’ll find me!

#havaslofts #chicagolife #RedAgency

--

--