Change is the only constant

Alejandra Sanchez
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 24, 2016
As close to Miami as I’ll get to in Buenos Aires

I wanted to start off by saying that I’m sitting at a coffee shop, during work hours, and I’m the only person on a laptop/mobile device. Everyone around me is either reading the paper/a book or engaged in face-to-face conversation (HOW REFRESHING!). One thing that sure hasn’t changed is that I have a very clear view of the 2 golden arches (in this case they’re white) and a Starbucks. This, among many other things which I’ll elaborate on below, are some of the differences I’ve absorbed from life in Buenos Aires when compared to my life in the US of A.

View of McDonald’s and Starbucks from local coffee shop

It’s been 2 weeks since I landed here (to be read in the tune of Bare Naked Ladies “One Week”). I can proudly say that, although I’m not sounding like an Argentinian just yet, the Spanish is rolling right off my tongue (after 2 glasses of wine). Also, people are still very nice, I’m not sick of eating sweets and meat, I’m very adapted to commuting on public transportation, I’m definitely not missing the 100 degree weather and arriving to work every day smelling like an elementary school kid after a physical education class. LIFE IS GOOD!

Here are some other things I’ve picked up on during my time in BA and at Havas Argentina:

3 agencies in 1
  1. This week, I attended a joined meeting to discuss a new strategy for one of Havas Argentina’s biggest clients, Danone. This meeting was held at the Havas office along with Danone’s social media agency and their packaging agency. I find it very interesting and productive that the client encourages this synergy between agencies. It ensures that all efforts between agencies are aligned in terms of strategy and communication. I also want to add that in preparation to this meeting, the whole team (from top of the pyramid to bottom) attended several meetings to discuss creation of strategy along the way. The full team attended and gave constructive feedback that all members successfully took and applied. Great synergy between team members as well. Kudos to all!

2. We have a dog! About 2 years ago, someone from the office found a dog on the street, very skinny and homeless. Rather than putting him up for adoption, they decided to keep him as the office mascot. He is probably the most loved dog in the city! Smothered by 300 people daily. Meet the office king, Isidro!

From starving on the streets, to dieting at Havas

3. Speakeasy style restaurants/bars have also hit Buenos Aires. And I have made it my mission to visit them all! Thank you Scott Galbraith for being such a sport! And thanks to everyone at the office for the great recommendations! Stay tuned on this journey on my Snapchat: @alejandrasanche !

Milion in Recoleta and Victoria Brown in Palermo

4. Uber is not yet fully established here in Buenos Aires. It’s true what they say, you don’t know what you have until it’s gone. Where as in Miami we’re fully adapted to the luxury of have Ubers at our disposal 24/7, the Taxi system here in BA is still in battle against having Uber fully operate in the city. I hopped into the first few taxi rides without stating where I was headed to and almost walked out without paying for my ride. Uber, you have me spoiled!

5. Earlier in the week, I was at a brainstorm with one of the teams coming up with a media strategy for a millennial target. Of course, Snapchat was one of my first thoughts. The team instantly shot it down as they consider Snapchat to be for a much younger target, like teens. They admitted to have downloaded the app, but never really get around to using it.

From the Miami office, we plan Pan-Regional Latin America. Argentina being one of the markets that we cover, so this served as a sort of focus group for me. I’ve been anxiously waiting to start including Snapchat in my plans for some of the relevant brands I work with. This comment served as an insight to how Snapchat is currently being perceived, though I know this will change VERY quickly (see below).

Same team members testing out new filters 2 days later…

Until next week!

-Ale

View from the very top of Palacio Barolo

--

--