Crossing Cultures Across the Atlantic

Valentin
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2019

I am very excited to be part of Havas Lofts in New York for a multitude of reasons: First, of all the places I’ve visited in my life, the United States is nearest and dearest to my heart. Second, I first started as a planner within the group on the West Coast, at Havas San Francisco. Now I’ve crossed the country to get a full feel of its sister city on the East Coast. New York’s electricity is almost palpable. It’s no coincidence that Rem Koolhaas calls it “Delirious.” This city acts as a magnet with copious opportunities to meet, discover, learn, and grow.

This experience is also not just about crossing the Atlantic but crossing new cultures, which is really what makes it all so rewarding as a strategist. To get a better understanding of people and their cultures around the globe, what makes us unique, and what connects us beyond those differences; that’s one of my main drivers working on Prosumers Reports for the network. It’s both helping to uncover global and local insights for campaigns while refining the role brands can play in everyday people’s lives. And for this, the Lofts experience is an amazing opportunity to cross this deep understanding of people through our reports with an on-field experience in a foreign country, becoming better acquainted with American culture and its people.

Not only have I crossed the Atlantic to cross cultures, I’m also crossing new ways of working. Being at BETC in Les Magasins Généraux, we’ve developed innovative ways to bring talents together. It’s been quite eye-opening to compare my experience in Paris to my current experience at HXC. I’m working on the 8th floor with the Global teams. “Global” because of a range of nationalities functioning across diverse departments for the group: from New Business and Comms, to Media and Talents; it’s concentrated expertise coming to coexist to bring about transformation! This mindset about breaking silos while having everyone under one roof is exciting to work with and creates a unique energy. It allows different departments to come together and better understand each other’s day-to-day and how they can help in the process. It’s one big collective team effort.

Talking about cross-expertise, I mainly work for FMCG brands back in Paris and, currently pitching a finance related brand, I had the chance to connect and brainstorm with people in the HXC finance department. It’s been rewarding and educational in more ways than one. While offering my point of view from a strategist standpoint, I was also benefiting from an expert’s understanding of the market and regulations to better adjust my thinking.

To sum up a (so far) fascinating cross-cultural experience, I will quote Lavoisier:

“Nothing is lost, nothing is created, everything is transformed.”

--

--