Making the Most of my Time in London #FindingLondon

LIZ R
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 21, 2017

It’s already my second week and my perception of Londoners has not changed — they are wonderful people! If only I had more than one time to learn all there is to know about this magical city. Before I share the latest from my host agency, let me tell you a bit about my weekend adventures…

This weekend I explored and marveled at everything. I am constantly impressed, and I can’t deny that I have walked more here London than I have on any other trip.

I went to visit several landmarks in this city including the Museum of London, the British Museum, the Tower Bridge, the London Bridge, and obviously I could not miss the well-known changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace.

British Museum, London Bridge, Tower Bridge, Buckingham Palace, Museum of London.

Going to Buckingham Palace and seeing the changing of the guards was a great experience, especially for someone who is not from this country. Locals may be used to it, but for me it was great to see such a historical tradition with my own eyes. The weather made the experience even better… the shining sun during the day provided some nice pictures to bring home (not to mention a nice sun tan).

Change of the Guard

After that I went to Kensington, another place that brings up memories of past events that are still relevant today, like Princess Diana. It is smaller than Buckingham, but definitely worth a visit.

Beside the palace is the Kensington Garden, where people spend time with their friends or family. In the summer, it is a place people visit when they are looking for a moment to enjoy nature and the sun.

Kensington

I also went to see Holland Park, where the Kyoto Garden is located… I was speechless, it is very spiritual and relaxing!

Kyoto Garden in Holland Park

Later, I went to the fabulous and well-known Abbey Road, obviously taking the famous Beatles photo. The issue is finding the right moment, when no cars are passing! It is very funny to see everybody doing the same thing.

Abbey Road

Some other highlights of my weekend include Soho and Piccadilly where I enjoyed a traditional English tea while listening to street singers (Simon Cowell, there is great talent here!), Harrods, a beautiful place to shop but a bit expensive, so I preferred to just walk around and enjoy it. The building is majestic.

Back to work!

On Monday, I arrived for my second week in the office. I have been talking more and more with my partners and have noticed that there are definite similarities between the two offices. For example, social network trends in the UK are similar to those of MX, which helps me understand what they do here and how they carry out each strategy.

Coming from Socialyse in Mexico, I’ve found that the tools used here at Socialyse UK are the same that I am used to at home. The difference comes in how the tools are implemented.

I have learned a lot so far and would like to continue hearing about the experiences and knowledge of my colleagues throughout the weeks to come. Said simply, I want to take advantage of every moment of every day. More to come in my next post!

--

--