Don’t Cry For Me Argentina…

Alejandra Sanchez
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJul 12, 2016
Non stop rain the last weekend in Buenos Aires. I think it was a sign..

I’m a big fan of Spanish foreign films. I see it as an opportunity to get myself to practice the language. I’m also a fan of Rom-Coms, and I’m not embarrassed to admit it. Which is why, when I came across the film Medianeras (Sidewalls) on Netflix, I didn’t hesitate to watch immediately.

In a nutshell, Medianeras is a rom com examining with charm how the architecture of a city conditions the lives of two of its residents. What I liked most about this film, is that Buenos Aires played a leading role. The plot of the film is revolved around the architecture of the city and all of its dissimilar buildings.

Medianeras literally means sidewalls. The film details how unlike the front and the back of the buildings that have balconies and grand entrances, sidewalls are useless parts, and are best used to advertise something.

I fell in love with the film and was left with very tasteful image of the city. After watching, I instantly added Buenos Aires to the top of my (very extensive) list of places to visit.

Little did I know that I would soon be sent to Buenos Aires to learn more about these advertisements that cover the magical architecture… and so much more!

As a media planner, that has juggled several accounts over the years, I find myself very consumed in the day to day of my work. This in result, has lead me to work tactically in order to get the job done. At times I forget to sit back and look at it all from a macro perspective. Why are we here? What is the focus of the work we’re delivering?

I believe that if you’re too focused on the task in front of you, you may miss the opportunity to do better by looking at the bigger picture. We’re constantly being offered training courses, but sometimes fail to complete because we are just too consumed with our day to day. Luckily we’re given opportunities such as Havas Lofts, which allow us put our work aside for a little in order to dive deeper in the magical world of media and advertising. Through Havas Lofts, my goal was to do just that, switch gears mentally and focus on putting my strategic skills to use. Which is why I volunteered to work with the 3i team (ideation, inspiration, incubation). Apart from helping out in the 3i team, I also wanted to learn how it is that the accounts team works in a local office.

In Miami office, the 3i team mostly works on new business pitches and opportunities. In Buenos Aires, the team is incorporated in the accounts team. So, in addition to new business pitches, they’re incorporated in the team structure. This allowed me to meet and work with different teams and specialties during my time in Buenos Aires.

I was able to attend a client meeting at Renault, a live mention for the reality game show Como Anillo al Dedo for Burger King and work on a strategy for a new Danone campaign (which required several internal and external agency meetings as I discussed in blog post #2). This all allowed me to build relationships with different teams and really live a day (month) in the life. I learned what planning tools they use, what type of clients they work with, what media channels they plan, what challenges the market is facing, and so much more! I’m very grateful for everyone’s patience while I asked 1,436,585 questions.

Live set of Como Anillo al Dedo

Thank you Havas Lofts for allowing me the opportunity to step outside of my comfort zone and work in Buenos Aires for a month. I’ve left this experience with a whole new understanding of how the local market operates (as I work with Pan Regional Latin America). A new set of skills that I plan to apply back home. Love and appreciation for a new city. And a lot of new friends!

Ps- check out Medianeras (Sidewalls). You’ll thank me later!

Warning: You’re going to want to visit Buenos Aires asap.

Adios!

--

--