Episode 02: The One Where Loops Became Royal

Loops Sandoval
havas lofts
Published in
6 min readJun 16, 2017
Very Royal Photo from “El Alcázar de Segovia” España 2017

So, Lorde says that “we will never be royals” but… been there, done that! LOL! In Spain, you cannot avoid becoming royal. Everything is royal!

Even Starbucks is Royal!

But, that is discussed of the end of this story, so keep reading.

One of the main things I’ve learned this week is that Arena Madrid is considered one of the top agencies in terms of innovation through strategy; and to prove it, they have a very large collection of award!!!! Cool right? And I get to work with them!

Everyone has been so time-generous with me because, even with their multiple activities on hand, they still find the time to talk about what are they doing, why they are doing it and how they are getting it done! There is still much to explore & dive into to fully understand, but with the remainder of my time I hope to find the best practices that I can bring home with me to Arena Mexico.

To help with this, my coach and I selected one of their main clients as the perfect case study. We are studying data & innovation solutions that are only possible when a client is open and willing to work with Arena as a business partner rather than a media, creativity and/or communications agency alone. We’ve been working with this information and with all the people involved in the project; more of that coming up.

I’ve also already been included in some very interesting projects for two of their main clients, such as Correos and Banco Santander.

Both brands presented very interesting briefings and challenges that, long story short, won’t surprise anyone: we need to remain one step ahead in the digital race for consumer preference that started more than a decade ago! A race with no finish line in sight, and with data and innovation as key pillars to broaden the distance between them and the competition.

Outside of the office it’s also been amazing! Madrid is a full of culture, beauty, parks, history, food, food… food… Did I say food? I could eat Jamón Ibérico (Iberic Jam) all day long, or broken eggs, or Gazpacho….

Even the food in Havas Village is good!!

But more on the food later on; let’s go to history!

History wise… last weekend I wanted to do some tourist activities, but I decided I didn’t want to pay 80+ euros for a tour on a crowded bus, being herded by tour guides, not being able to see what I want when I wanted and not being able to buy as many souvenirs as I wanted with the time I had… LOL!

So, I took a train called Cercanías.

Cercanías Train Rails

Cercanías is a network of trains that connects the surrounding communities of Madrid. I went to San Lorenzo El Escorial, a classic little community full of historic and architectural heritage just one hour from Madrid.

From the train station to the main attraction in El Escorial, I had one of the longest half-hour walks of my life…

Road to El Escorial… hot… very very hot

Why longest?

Because it was uphill and under a 37C degrees sun (or 98.6 F)… so I was basically dying on my way up! But I made it!!!

Water? My best friend.

So.. I hiked to the main attraction that is a monumental ex-monastery from the 1500’s that was also a mausoleum for the royal family and their descendants, built by Felipe II. Amongst other things, they have an impressive library that contains the history, culture and knowledge in science to date on ancient and beautifully handmade books. They also have a huge indoor cemetery with human-shaped tombs. I won’t lie, it was weird walking amongst them with my camera and audiobook in hand.

Views from El Escorial Escorial s.XIV

Cool Loops Fact: Carlos V “The chocolate king” is interred there.. Chocolate King? If you don’t believe me look at this, it’s very popular candy in México.

Carlos V Chocolate

Well, after spending almost 3 hours walking around the Monastery, I walked to the beautiful town of El Escorial, ate a little something and returned to Madrid.

The next day, I met my cousin who lives here in Madrid and we drove to Segovia in his car to spend the day.

Segovia is this charming city with even more history than El Escorial. In Segovia, there is a 800m (5 mile) aqueduct that marks the entrance.

This is no ordinary aqueduct — it was made by the Romans and it does not have any cement or “glue” between the rocks…it is pure and infallible architecture that has survived more than 2,000 years.

One thing is for sure… Segovia streets are surely crowded with ghosts at night. Just look them in the eye and they should flee… (or at least that’s what Mario Bros taught me all those years LOL).

Also in Segovia, there is this magnificent Castle known as the “Alcázar.” It is basically a fortress to protect the city and, of course, the royal family.

Guess who lived there? The Catholic Kings! Yes, the ones that financed Christopher Columbus on his trip that led to the discovery of America.

The castle has everything: eerie towers, knights in shining armor and incredible views.

If you see a resemblance to Disney’s Castle… you’re not crazy. Parts of it were actually inspired by the Alcazar!

My Cousin Bernardo and Me (Loops) at the top of the highest tower; a princess was there… hoping to be rescued by some guy named Shrek…

So as I was saying…Loops did became Royal this week. Why? Because I was invited by my teammates to go to an event they organized for one of their clients, a German home care brand called Leifheit. Leifheit’s motto is “Taking care of the most precious things,” and they arranged for the brand to pay for the restoration of one of the most iconic paintings from Pablo Picasso: “El Arlequín”.

Hall for the Arlequin Exibit
“El Arlequin” sponsored by Leifheit

So… I attended a PRIVATE guided tour on the history of modern painting inside the Thyssen-Bornemissa Museum, one of the most prestigious museums and art collections in the world!

In other words, I became Royal!

After this cool visit to the museum, we had cocktails on the roof and Arena presented a study on “Home Care in Spain,” which was part of the deal. Even better, the client had mounted an “expo” of their products and afterward gave everything away!!!!

I was so incredibly happy to be invited to such an event! AND I left with everything I needed for my apartment in México.

So.. how royal was that? Very!!!

See you soon!

--

--