Episode 3: The one with people.

Kyle Jutkiewicz
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 29, 2016

This week on Havas Lofts Sydney: The people who make Havas WW Australia such a great place to work. Plus, Kyle goes to Melbourne and totally remembers to take pictures.

Like this picture of Melbourne that I most assuredly remembered to take while there.

Perhaps one of the first things I’ve realized about the people at Havas WW Australia is that they are a lot less Australian than I originally expected. It’s not because they don’t conform to the overblown Australian stereotypes we see in the US (though for the record, they don’t). I also don’t mean that I’m disappointed to not once have been asked to put another anything on the barbie or been given a helpful tutorial on what may or may not constitute a knife (though for the record, I am disappointed).

What I mean is that many of the folks I’ve been working with in the office are not “Australian” at all, at least not in the sense that they were born and raised here. I’ve met and worked (and pillaged) with people from what must be at least a dozen countries in my 3 weeks here. A whole lot like the city in which it stands, 155 Clarence Street (floors 7 through 9 at least) house a wonderfully diverse group of people and each of them brings a unique point of view that makes the work better.

Where the good people are.

It’s hard to talk about the people here without starting with my two coaches, Seamus and Stu co-ECDs and the agency’s heaviest creative hitters. They bring a deep desire to do amazing work combined with absolutely no ego and are perfect examples of the agency’s primary rule — no wankers.

Stu and Seamus.

With their leadership it’s easy to see why the creative department at Havas WW Australia is by far one of the most relaxed and effortlessly productive teams I’ve ever seen. I’d also be remiss if I didn’t give a shout out to Helen, Alex, Dave, and Josh for making my small corner of the creative department an amazingly entertaining place to sit.

Pictured from left to right: Josh, Dave, Alex, and Helen.

Outside the creative department I’ve been lucky enough to work with some incredible people, including those production, strategy, and account (known lovingly as “suits” in the local parlance). And listen, I’m not saying it’s the most important thing I’m bringing back to New York, but calling Account folks “suits” is something that’s definitely coming home with me.

Pictured here, “Super Suits” Amelia and Charlotte. Okay. I’m starting to think I shouldn’t have asked people to provide their own photos.

The people are what make any agency great. It’s why I love working at Arnold and it’s why I love working here at Havas WW Australia.

Until next time, enjoy a couple photos that I 100% took with my own camera device during my trip to Melbourne.

The famous Melbourne Laneways. I definitely had an amazing time photographing them.
What a grab! They sure love their sports at the MCG in Melbourne. Photo by me, obviously.

--

--