Falling in loft with the¨Windy City¨

Carla Olano Castro
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readOct 27, 2017

Before coming to Chicago, my expectation was that Chicago is some way ahead of many other markets in terms of uniqueness, sociability, innovation and of course digital trends.

I always said that NYC was my favorite city, however, Chicago has nothing to envy to NYC. Chicago is different, CHICAGO SMILES. And I say that because I did not see such a smiley office as Havas Chi before. Even the dogs smile, I have not heard any bark yet. They perfectly know how to behave and are able to attend to any meeting perfectly. Some of you might think that this is a distraction, but I find it much more productive as we can disconnect for few minutes between projects. I was not very dog friendly before I came here but this environment has changed my mind and I am actually starting to appreciate them.

As most of the Havas´ offices, Havas Chi is located at the heart of the city. I love the beautiful 15 min morning walk to the office. The sunny cold day with the fresh air hitting my face while looking at the skyline views which never ceases to impress makes the walk very enjoyable.

What is very impressive to see is the vitality of this amazing host agency. It transmits positive vibes, vitality, and makes you easily connect with people.

Havas Village photos

Let me share a funny anecdote with you: the first day of socializing around the office, I was asked to push a beer cart with a loudspeaker offering some drinks to people. I was like… ‘how embarrassing to do this on the first day!’ However, after giving out the first drinks I was feeling like I was part of the team since long time. People are that extrovert, adorable and making me feel comfortable that I even forgot that I was the new one.

Chicagoans at Havas are famous for being one of the most creatives companies in the heartland by reinvigorating great American brands through cultural relevance. They have fully integrated media teams where digital does not play an isolated role but is fully integrated in all media strategies amplifying the reach.

The Village concept is fully consolidated in Chicago. Creative and media team are sitting next to each other, working holistically.

My lovely media team

So, what makes Havas Chi that special? I will give you some heads-up

  • Talented people sitting together
  • Employees have fun while working
  • Bring your dog to work policy
  • Graffiti art decoration
  • Barber Shop, blowout Junkie & chair massage
  • Corporative clothing and accessories
  • Beer Cart every Friday
  • Cinema with Popcorn

And here is a video recap of my fabulous first week. Can´t wait to experience the next one:

--

--