“Freundschaftsbezeugung” …yes, it’s a word

Taylor DuFour
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2017

“Freundschaftsbezeugung”: This is a very long German word that means: “demonstrations of friendship.” I feel like this is applicable because it demonstrates my Lofts experience to a T.

Jana and Sabine in front of the Havas Düsseldorf office

Amiable, compassionate, generous, intuitive, passionate, reliable, sincere… These are all words I would use to describe my colleagues from across the sea that I’ve been so fortunate to work with these last few weeks in the Düsseldorf office. Seeing these traits in my new colleagues each day serves as a reminder of their importance and also reminds me to practice them myself.

Teamwork literally makes the dream work…

Production discussion on the terrace w/ some laughs

As a stranger who has become a part of the team, I have had nothing but a warm welcome from everyone I have met. Havas clearly does an impeccable job of hiring great people! There is always a wide array of personalities in any workplace, but here in Düsseldorf there are also many different nationalities. This is somewhat true for my office in Chicago too, but at the Düsseldorf office for example, the clients that I am working with are made up of Italian, Irish, German contacts — and the members of the team at Havas Düsseldorf are German, French, Romanian, etc… yet everyone is speaking in English. For the most part, everyone’s primary language is German here at the office, so when those conversations happen… I usually just sit and observe, HA! One colleague can speak 4 languages fluently… intimidating and impressive! I speak 1 — sigh… Having this level of diversity has really taught me what patience and understanding means. This is important not only in the workspace, but also personally.

Meine Mentor

Sabine and I bonding on top of the Rheinturm

Luckily for me, my mentor Sabine has been nothing but welcoming and has made me feel at home even before I came here. She is referred to as “Monica” from Friends for her Type A, account person tendencies, but for my “new guy” position, it has certainly been in my favor! Fun fact: She is obsessed with NYC (see below), as are most of my co-workers… I am trying to persuade them to be more in favor of Chicago, but none of them have ever been there… so a visit may be in order :). She is the go-to person for any questions and her team relies on her input and expertise. She is a prime example of a hardworking, passionate employee who always strives for the best.

Sabine on top of The Rock this spring. It was her dream trip to NYC.

Moving and working somewhere new is intimidating no matter how confident and outgoing you are, especially when it is in a foreign country and English isn’t the primary language. Although the time here will be short, as 4 weeks is not a lot of time, I can’t imagine having the amazing experience I am having without any of these people in my life. I hope to continue our friendship and stay connected for years to come!

Tchüss!! Only 1 post to go! :’(…

--

--