Getting inducted into #LYNXLife

Jen Margulies
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readNov 20, 2019

This week, I had the opportunity to get to know the HAVAS Lynx Group a little bit better. I was enrolled in a series of “inductions” that all new hires at the company go through. Each induction had a different topic — science, production, creative and strategy, to name a few — and provided an overview of each department and their role within Lynx. I appreciated that all new hires got an overview of all departments, not just the ones they would be working with most often.

In the creative session, I was able to see some of the great campaigns that have been rolled out in the last year. In the production induction, I learned that HPS here leads the efforts of localizing materials that are created at a global level. The presenters highlighted a few key considerations for developing materials that will be localized, such as avoiding the use of country-specific idioms and choosing a font that includes characters in other languages. Having only worked on US accounts, it was great to learn about some of these key considerations for successful localization. I particularly enjoyed the #LYNXLife induction because I got to learn about the internal programs and events that were implemented over the last year. I was most impressed by the commitment to hosting a ton of learning and development programs and the efforts to offset the company’s carbon footprint. I thought it was great that for each new starter, a tree is planted in Manchester through the 100 Trees Club initiative.

I was also lucky to have the opportunity to travel to London to attend the Parkylife exhibition. Parkylife is an initiative that aims to shine a light on the brighter side of living with Parkinson’s. People from the Parkinson’s community are invited to submit stories, tips and quirks about living with Parkinson’s. That content is turned over to a team of artists and illustrators as inspiration to develop beautiful art. The exhibition showcased all the work that had been created, and it was amazing to see the range of humor, emotion and personality in everything that was on display.

Paolo (fellow Lofter from New York) and I with Matt Eagles at the Parkylife Exhibition

Parkylife was started by Matt Eagles, the Head of Patient Engagement at Lynx, who has Parkinson’s himself. Matt exudes positivity and truly lives the mission of Parkylife. Many people within Lynx contribute to Parkylife and help bring it to life. It was so clear there was a lot of heart for supporting Matt and Parkylife, and it was inspiring to see that passion on display.

I can’t believe I’m heading into my last week of Lofts! Although I’m sad that my time in Manchester is coming to a close, I know I am heading back to New York feeling inspired by the people and the work here and ready to share what I observed and experience with my home agency.

--

--