HAVE YOU MET…? ROUND 3 !

Lea Bellaiche
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2014

--

Everytime I publish this photo of Barney Stinson I think about his tone : “Haaaaave you met Ted?”

After Valerie and Severine, let’s meet Marty Susz. Such a friendly and welcoming person who was really enthusiastic during the presentation of my agency.

So… Have you met Martin E. Susz (Marty)?

Managing Director Havas Worldwide Tonic & Global Brand Manager & Director of Client Service Havas Worldwide New York

Marty, tell us more about yourself, how did you end up in this industry?

Will be 16 years at the agency in January 2015. When I was in graduate school for business I really liked the marketing and advertising courses I took and I thought I could leverage what I learned undergrad as a psychology major.

What do you love about your job?

What I love most about my job is the people I work with…amazingly talented, diverse, interesting, funny, and really nice people. I also love working in a business where creative is king and I’ve never been bored a day in my advertising life.

What’s the best piece of advice you have for someone coming to work in a US agency?

Best three pieces of advice…

  1. Never piss anyone off..they may come back as your next client, prospective client, boss or in-law.
  2. Listen, really listen to what is troubling or concerning your client. You don’t necessarily have to do exactly what they want but you do need to give them a few really good solutions to the problem they are grabbling with.
  3. Only worry about things you can influence or change….. never worry about things you have no control over.

What do you think the world will look like in 2050? And, what do you imagine the world of marketing / media will look like in 2050?

There is way too much disharmony in the world….in the US, Russia, Middle East to name a few…I am counting on the millennials to harmonize the world and help us focus on what makes us more similar than dissimilar. Media will become more fragmented more cutomizable and consumers will become even more tethered to their devices which is why emotion and humor in communication will become even more important in breaking through and storytelling.

A quote?

“Find something you love to do and you’ll never work another day in your life” Harvey MacKay, author with of “Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive”

3 aspirational words?

Be passionate, work hard and have fun.

--

--