I hate loving you

Mehdi Khelil
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readDec 4, 2015

Dear New York, we have dated for one month. And now what?! Are we going to leave each other or should we work on our relationship? Actually… are we dating or seeing each other? Oh wait… are we exclusive yet?!

I have to confess… even though I really wanted to meet you at first… I would have not complained to meet Sydney… the hot, tanned, sunny city. I could picture myself wearing shorts, drinking cocktails on its white sandy beaches. But fate decided otherwise!
Anyway, I always preferred brunette! So when I heard I had a blind date with you, I’ll help you imagine my reaction: I was thrilled and a little bit worried at the same time. After all, it is not every day that you have the opportunity to live in one of the most amazing cities in the world. Although, I guess, coming from Paris I had a really good training!

So after a long day of getting ready… did I pack enough clothes? Is it hot or cold in November? Which pair of Jordans should I bring with me (the AJ1, the AJ6 or the AJ7)? Which perfume would you like the most? You have to put yourself in my shoes (let’s go for the AJ1 OG Bred… a classic), I’ve heard so much about you that I didn’t want to disappoint you!
On the other side, I won’t lie to you, my expectations were high. You, the city that never sleeps, the Big Apple that so many people dream about, the city with its own songs (Sinatra, Jay Z, 50 Cent…), you, the American dream. I hope you derserve all this attention.

And you did not let me down. As soon as I laid my eyes on you I was hooked! You had this « je ne sais quoi » that made you ONE in a million. Your flow, your perfume, your hidden sides and all you had to offer, even the hustle and bustle of your streets made me fall in love with you.

Our romance was magic. Every day you amazed me. The colors of your trees, the length of your streets, the energy of your boroughs, the height of your building, the beauty of your skyline, the fat of your burgers, the unlimited choice of your sneakers stores, etc…
I’ve been drinking in your bars, dancing in your clubs, cheering in your stadiums, eating in your streets, strolling in your park, sleeping in your giant, concrete skyscrapers.
You completely made me forget about my childhood lover, Paris.

If I had to choose only one of your beauties, it would be TriBeCa. Hudson Street. Number 200. Third floor. You know what I’m talking about, don’t you?!….. No…? Not the magic kitchen, although that was sweet (in all senses). Come on girl… I’m talking about Cake; this nimble and creative agency and its people who became my colleagues for 4 entire weeks. I had such a great time over there! I feel lucky I had the chance to meet them, to share ideas and processes, to witness creativity and passion, and so much more.
So make sure to treat them well and to give them my regards!
I also cannot forget the Global Talent team who was always there for me and the other Lofters. Best (crazy) team ever! No doubt.

I THANK THEM ALL !!!
Hopefully I will meet them again soon. With or without you. Paris is always a good idea and a great destination!

I know your lovers always liked to compare yourself with this French Lady. But don’t be jealous, she might be the most elegant and sophisticated, but you are young and flighty! And I like that!
I’m ready to break up with my long time partner and to try something new with you. What do you think?
So now that I’ve told you that… what’s next? We’ve been dating for an entire month and we had so much fun.
I know I should probably wait 2 to 3 months to call you back and ask you for another date… then do my best to impress you to make you drop all the other candidates. And one day, eventually, we will be exclusive… I dare you!

New York, I hate loving you… see you soon, my love.

M.

I (we) be back

--

--

Mehdi Khelil
havas lofts

Senior Project Manager, Havas Productions, Paris