i m p r e s s i o n s .

Courtney Brooks
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2015

Day 1 in São Paulo started at 4.30am, I’m not the best when it comes to adapting to time differences, obviously. A few hours of South Park in Portuguese before I’m ready to head out for an experience I’ve never been accustomed too, excited much?!

I’d practised my walk to the station the day before, I had the route sussed, so I thought. Arriving at the bus station was my first realisation that I had been lied to, no doubt! I couldn’t find anyone who could speak a word of English to me, and I didn’t know which bus to get on out of the ‘00s that had passed that morning. I’m not one to give up, but after an hour and a half asking the locals, ‘Voçe fala Ingles’, ‘Do you speak English?’ to no avail, I thought it sensible to try and get to the office via Taxi.

After trying to explain my destination to 3 ‘taxistas’, the 4th finally gave in to my bad Portuguese pronunciation and was able to take me to the Havas Brasil office.

Upon arrival of skyscraper of an office that I’d be based at for a month, a whole host of emotion breezed past for a few seconds. What the hell will this be like! Intrigued and determined, I signed in, grabbed a pass and up to the 15th floor I travelled.

Like a gameshow, the elevator doors opened, and a pink glaze was all my eyes could focus on. I stepped out… I had arrived at HWW Brasil, insane!

There is no mistaking how friendly the people are here, well, the ones who can understand me! ‘If you need anything, just ask’, this is all I heard on my first Monday morning, in another office, in another country, ‘000s of miles away from home — reassuring!

I was greeted by Celio, the CD on the Citroen account, and man, what a hairstyle. Silver curly locks that you can notice from miles away — Brazilian stallion maybe, ha!

He showed me around the office, introduced me to nearing 100 people, I can only remember about 8 of their names then showed me some of the work they were currently producing. What a difference!

I instantly felt comfortable and welcomed.

We went for lunch on the Monday to a steakhouse, these Brasilieros can eat?!
When we were done, we headed back to work, and their concentration remained 100% for the rest of the day. I was struggling to keep my eyes open at the end of that meal!

The lunching and concentration continued for the rest of that week, well up until Wednesday because, as if my luck hadn’t striked enough already, it was bank holiday here on Thursday & Friday…

What the 4 days off will bring, I can only imagine… (:

Courts-

--

--