Leaving Comfort Behind

Joseph Delhommer
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readOct 30, 2015
One of the open areas on the 3rd floor of Cupola House, the offices of Havas Worldwide London.

So full disclosure: It’s my first time here in the UK. Coming from NYC, it’s easy to see the charm and wonder that people always talk about when describing London. But being the so-called NYC of Europe, it’s easy to see some parallels between the two, and there’s a comfort there. I think as humans, we always try to seek out the familiar in the new, because it helps us accept and appreciate the things that are different.

London runs at a slower pace and the people are polite as can be. Almost to a fault. There’s immense diversity in culture and the fact that there’s anchors of history everywhere is amazing. I’m constantly looking up and around since you never know what’s hiding in plain sight. Walking around the office of Havas Worldwide London, I pass by a house with a plaque that reads “Darwin lived here.” That’s impactful. One of history’s greats was making amazing work just a few blocks away from where we ourselves try to do the same every day.

The reality is that being in a new environment where you feel a bit uneasy, where you’re outside your comfort zone, and a bit nervous as well, is a great feeling. It’s only been my first week and already I feel like I’m back in creative school. The people here are incredibly passionate about ideas and making work they genuinely believe will transform a client’s business. There’s a purity to the approach of creative here that makes you realize how complicated the US market has become for advertising. They don’t get bogged down by the minutiae our clients tend to get caught up in. Offers, selling, 100 legal lines, or putting the product benefit super on screen for 5 seconds.

The agency process here is also quite refreshing. Since I started, I’ve been on a global pitch that’ll be taking up most of my time here. Sitting on the initial briefing was already a sign that things were different. The problem and assignment was so articulate, the setups were passionately delivered, to the point that I was moved. Weird yet welcome.

The creative heads have decided to take a writer’s room approach for this pitch. Which basically means you have 7 creatives in a room all day, throwing out ideas and thoughts, and having crack a window so we don’t get stifled by the scent of creative juices. It’s a new way of working for me, and although it’s taken a bit of adjusting, the volume of output is incredible. Lots of good thoughts in a very short amount of time.

It’s only been a week but I’m already starting to get used to the feeling of being slightly out of place. The team enjoys my outsider perspective and I’m soaking up a lot of their nuances and quirks that I’m sure to bring back home to use down the road. As things heat up in the coming week, I’m looking forward to what comes next.

Pro-tip: I struggled to find street signs anywhere. I was quite perplexed. Then I did that look up thing, and lo and behold, the signs are on the sides of buildings. It’s nice to start feeling like a local.

--

--