Life at Dailymotion

Jonny Appleby
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2016

I’ve been fortunate to have spent 2 weeks so far working with Dailymotion in their NYC office. During this time I’ve experienced an office and culture which is any many ways quite different to what I’m used to in London, although there are plenty of similarities too.

The office space here is much more open and spacious, plenty of space for flexible working, as well as many actual offices and huddles for team meetings or if you need to get some quiet time. This is quite different to work in the UK, where we don’t often tend to work in offices and typically work on busy floors with limited space. This change has been very refreshing for me, the space available creates a much more relaxed atmosphere, however, I think after some time I may miss the hustle and bustle of the UK investment floors!

Despite having been established for over 10 years, it is clear Dailymotion has retained elements of its start-up culture. This is highlighted everyday when I see senior staff working closely with more junior members of the team and also with the more flexible approach to start time in the morning. Again this more informal approach helps to create a sense of relaxed freedom and creativity.

Now another area that has really stood out for me… Food and drink supplies… For those that read my last blog you will know how much I appreciate the variety of drinks available in America! Every week the Dailymotion office fridge is stacked full of soft drinks, ice teas and a range of healthy and unhealthy snacks, as well as a catered breakfast every Friday. However, the American distaste for hot tea has been a slight issue, as I managed to go through their entire supply of tea bags within the first few days!

--

--