Going to miss this view from my Havas Lofts home

Like my Addiction & Manage my Talents

Eva Hoogstrate
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJun 29, 2018

--

Seems like a pretty random tittle, but I’ll promise you it will all make sense in the next 390 words. So, this week every day is a last day, a last Monday, a last Wednesday…. Well you get the point. People are asking me if I’m happy to go back home, but to be honest I would love to stay for another month, or even for another year or two. (Yes, HR team this is a, not so subtle, hint!!) Amsterdam is amazing, but the NYC vibe is indescribable and since day one it feels like my natural habitat.

This week I attended a training for ‘TalentSpace’, which is a new HRIS (Human Resource Information System) that will be rolled out in Amsterdam in the beginning of 2019. The scope of this tool is global and it will include a Core HR (org charts, HR data, reporting, etc), Talent Management (Performance reviews, feedbacks, talent reviews, CV profiles, job catalogue) and Compensation & Benefits (comp.reviews, advanced compensations). That sounds great, but although I love NYC, I’m still a Dutchie and therefore almost always a bit skeptical.

This skeptical feeling disappears quickly, partly because the training is given by Andrea Moorer, the VP Director Talent Management. Andrea is a very honest and warm personality who apparently also can give clear and motivational trainings. At the end of the day I learnt a lot about all the functionalities, have a good idea of how this will help to make my work more efficient and I wrote notes to prepare myself for the launch date in The Netherlands. I’m especially looking forward to the organizational charts and all the reports. In my opinion this will stimulate the collaboration in the Havas network and saves a lot of work at the same time.

Guess the paragraphs above have explained the ‘Manage my Talent’ part of the title, so now on to the addiction part. Yesterday Havas Health & You invited the lofters in their office at 200 Madison avenue. We had the chance to hear about what they do (so helpful, to be honest I had no clue upfront) and we attended a lunch & learn session by Dennis Urbaniak. He showed us the latest tech. trends we can use and some of the amazing work they did for clients. One of those examples was a campaign named ‘Like my addiction’ to raise awareness of alcoholism among young people. Even this campaign is from 2016, it still is an amazing way to show the relevance of content these days!

Louise Delage

This blog is already more words than planned, so with the risk of losing your interest I’m going to add some more. Like I mentioned NYC is great, but so are all the people who made this Lofts experience possible for me. Big Shoutout to Keith Glozzy (Project Manager Lofts program), Hiyam Khalifa (Talent Lead and my Lofts mentor) and all my colleagues. THANK YOU!! YOU ARE AWESOME! (and fabulous).

Keith Glozzy & Hiyam Khalifa

--

--