Live like a New Yorker

SOPHIE VAN EECKHOUT
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 28, 2016

I cannot believe it has been 3 weeks already. Time flies. I have met so many people. NYC is a real melting pot.

When I arrived, the first people I met were other “Lofters”. Then, I met my team who integrated me very well, and all other co-workers at Havas and Havas Health & Dailymotion offices which I have recently discovered. I’ve also met random people in the city …

5 Lofters in NYC

We met on the first day, went for a drink, created a Whatsapp group where everyone was able to say what they were doing, share photos, videos, insights… Everything went so easily that is was a real pleasure. We even share a New York experience every week — Brunch in the city. It’s what all the cool kids do.

Living all in the same building is really nice, you never feel alone even though everyone has their own stuff to do. It is also really nice that we are all pretty different, with different background and jobs at Havas …well some are more different than others. It turns out I am the only non-British Lofter! Even Adam the Australian was raised there…Thank god, I love British accents… and tea :)

We’ve started to build strong relationships by taking care of one of the other, learning from each other, and sharing our experiences.

4 Super Heroes

My team is truly made of Super Heroes. Paul Schifilliti, my coach, has been working for Havas Media as a VP controller for a year. He can rely on 3 dedicated people: Jalene, Petra and Shane, who are focusing on improving books quality and transparency. Accounting is far removed from creativity. You cannot invent story to the auditors, even if sometimes a bit of imagination could help make figures better than they are …

Amazing team@Havas Media USA

Of course, besides sharing with my team an overview of Havas Group processes, requirements, and long & short term strategies, I also taught them how to speak some French — their pronunciation of “Bonjour” is getting better every day. They still need to work on their “croissant.” Thankfully, we still have a week left. Come on, you can do it!

We won’t talk about Shane’s French, this is supposed to be an upbeat blog post.

I admire my team. They are dealing with short deadlines, yet managing to get the job done (like the one that made them come in the Friday they had off for the fourth of July) …”gotta do what you gotta do” for the firm (p.s. I’m learning to speak New Yorker)!

1 Mermaid

Another funny character I met during my NY time was a mermaid on the subway, she was putting on her make up before the parade…who was a part of the parade. Believe it or not, but last Saturday, the subway looked like an ocean. You could find plenty of mermaids, sharks, crabs…only in New York!
As you may know, every year in Coney Island they have a mermaid parade. This event has grown over the last several years, and has started to become a big tourist attraction.

Mermaid @Subway

Thousands of spectators flock to Surf Avenue, Coney Island’s main drag, to watch King Neptune and Queen Mermaid lead a procession of semi-nude marchers in costumes through the neighborhood.

It has been one of my favorite experiences so far.

Why, you ask?

Because she is part of my “Experience”. The thing I have come to love in about NYC is that you can always be you and express yourself however you want. No one looks at you funny. No one says anything. The only thing that matters is that you are a new Yorker. France should be inspired by such freedom of expression.

At this point I felt the real goal of Havas Loft program: The Experience.

Seeing a picture, having a long discussion or projecting a PowerPoint presentation is not enough… you need to really feel it.

--

--