Local Natives

vicky k
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2016

Week two. So far, so good. One of the many highlights was checking out the California-based band, Local Natives, at music venue KOKO in Camden.

By no means am I feeling like a local (native). But, my concert experience this week has inspired me to pull together a list of my cultural learnings thus far. They are as follows:

Brexit = Trump. No further comment.

Left side = The side you’re SUPPOSED to walk on, but no one actually does. Infuriating for a New Yorker. Let’s agree to a side and go with it.

Full stop = Period. And calling it a period will get you some funny looks.

Food = Is good!

Cheeky = Cheeky pint. Cheeky sandwich. Cheeky Nandos (Portuguese chicken chain).

Afternoon tea = Ironically it’s not just tea. You have to eat all the sandwiches too.

Guy Fawkes/Bonfire night = Celebration of a man who tried to blow up parliament?

And one that Londoners may not subscribe to, but has been one of my most valuable learnings as a tourist here:

Google maps = Lifeline. That blue dot is both my savior and my mortal enemy.

Of course, I’m learning a lot at work every day. It’s just a little harder to neatly summarize those learnings. Overall though, some days I leave feeling good about myself, other days I am utterly confused. Adapting ain’t easy, but it is definitely a good time.

--

--