Lofts Actually! ❤

As a “Lofter”, I’ve had the opportunity to experience 4 intensive weeks in another Havas office, and it has gone by very quickly. Now it’s time to look back and reflect on this experience.

Giovanna Martin
havas lofts
3 min readJul 6, 2017

--

A True Lofts Story:

1) Lofts at First Sight

Before arriving, I couldn’t imagine what my life in Boston would be like. I didn’t know what to expect of this place, but at first sight I was very impressed.

In the beginning, everything was new for my 5 senses: the streets, the people, the language, the Village, the food, my team… Everything had this new essence and it made me pay attention and look forward to discovering the new fresh air!

2) Getting to know Each Other…Falling in Lofts!

During my first weeks in Boston, I tried to get an overview of how everything was running here. I tried to compare people, teams, ways of working, etc. in my new home; however, I soon realized it’s impossible to find 100% similarities between Boston and Barcelona because there is over 3,640 miles of distance between them!!

In terms of business, advertising rules (such as touch points, brand messages and relations with partners and clients) are more or less the same all over the world. But fortunately, there are cultural differences which enrich our mindset when we are living abroad.

These small (big) details are what I was most surprised by and, in my opinion, are the things that helped me to fall in loft. For example, meetings start and end on time, lunch is quick and coffees are huge, a “Good morning” is followed by a “How are you doing?” which may be the beginning of a looong ping pong conversation. “Afternoon”, “Evening” and “Night” are always confused in my mind because dinners are always early…

3) Getting used to Each Other… In lofts!

After some weeks working here, I was totally in lofts with the culture of the office.

As a part of Boston’s Socialyse team, I’ve had the opportunity to experience the Village Vibes and essence. I’ve learned that motivation, collaboration and productivity are a must.

Team values are very important in the US market, and I’ve listened to some motivational and empowering speeches. I’m in love with these inspiring meetings because they are the reason I go to work with a smile on my face everyday with the feeling “Yes, we can”.

4) Saying Goodbye to the “Belofted”

Sadly all good things come to an end, but this short and intense time frame has made me appreciate Lofts and Boston so much more.

Throughout these last days in the Boston Village, I have tried to look back at the beginning of my trip and put together the puzzle pieces that create a big picture of everything I have learned and experienced!

5) Sharing the Lofts Story and Explaining how Better you are Together!!

Once I’m back in my home office, it will be time to summarize my “summer lofts” onto a mood board.

In these four weeks, I have gotten to know the Boston Village and I gained a global perspective on how the US market works. For sure, the biggest takeaways I’m bringing home with me regard the US’s way of working and their culture throughout the office:

Empowerment is an important part of motivation.

Efficiency on a daily basis leads to more productivity

Specialization to learn from each other and be more collaborative with every team: “We can be good as individual but we are better as a team”

Thanks Lofts ❤

--

--