LONDON, THE NEW CAPITAL CITY OF FRANCE ?

Marion Caillard
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2016

I’ve been to London several times before becoming a London Lofter, but to my surprise I am hearing people speaking French at each street corner (and I don’t mean tourists — you can recognise them to their big Primark bags they carry at each hand) or at each floor of the Havas London office. And that gave me my first thought about this first week as a Lofter in London: Great Britain is massively invaded by French people! So I feel quite at home…except for my job!

To be part of the New Business team is challenging and a complete exploration for me — that is my second point. I usually work on corporate communications at a Group level, I don’t usually attend a chemistry meeting (the step before a first client meeting in a possible pitch process). I am also « neutral » and work for both networks : Havas Creative Group & Havas Media Group. So now I’m discovering the sense of belonging to only one agency with its own philosophy, its own way of working, its own organisation.

me when I’ve been heard of the chemistry meeting

The fact that I usually work for both sides makes me very collaborative and I think it is one of the keys to succeeding in this experience from a professional point of view.

The third point is that you have to take advantage of this experience from any perspective it can offer. Havas Lofts is not only a great experience of sharing knowledge, discovering other ways of working and cultures…it can also be a great opportunity to take a step back and have a look on what have already accomplished or not…

This afternoon I spoke with a girl from the HR team in Havas London (she invited me to get a bubble tea….the trendy drink in the agency) and she told me that nothing happens by accident. So let’s see if she is right.

To be continued…

3 things to keep in mind :

French people are everywhere !

French people are everywhere !

French people are everywhere !

--

--