Love letters

Nicolas Gagé
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readJul 10, 2017

Dear NYC,

I met you 4 weeks ago and I have to be honest, I dreamt about you a lot. Many of my friends told me about how amazing, funny, and social you were. Some of them also told me you were very loud and it’s sometime difficult to speak with you because you know a lot of people and you’re always busy. Some people told me you’re hard to talk and you don’t introduce yourself to people a lot. They said that it’s hard to come talk to you alone. When we first met, I was sitting in a taxi and I saw you from afar. It was love at the first sight. I had a connection with you very quickly when I started talking to you! You showed me things, places, people and helped me to become a New Yorker. I am grateful for that. Thank you for brining me to all the museums and parks. Thanks for all these walks. Thanks for the music, the people, the atmosphere, for being so open minded and showing people that we can truly be who we want in NYC. Thanks for the rooftops, thanks for your weather. I’ll miss you.

I don’t need any more words!

Dear Havas,

Oh you! I’ve known you for 4 years now, but I didn’t know you had so many secrets! But you actually do! At first it was very strange to see you on the other side of the Atlantic, because I am so used to seeing you in Paris. I learned a lot from you here and I discovered something different. I discovered you have different visions, but that they all lead to the same point: SHARING. Thanks to you, and thanks to the Havas Lofts programme, I was able to get to know many people. I extended my network and I had interesting discussions and gave me insights to bring back home. You changed me in a way that made me go out of my comfort zone, and it’s always good to do that. Thanks for the concert, the magic kitchen and the happy hours. Thanks for having so many meeting rooms so we don’t have to fight for one (;) for France). I’ll see you in Paris very soon, so be nice with me please!

Havas NYC & me, the first day we met!

Dear people,

Thanks for sharing with me your knowledge, visions and Havas stories. Thanks for showing me your spots to eat, inviting me to your meetings and sharing your jokes (I know now that I can make very funny jokes in English). We’re all part of the same Havas family and I felt that while being here. Thanks for showing me your client’s world and inviting me to discover it, allowing me to give my opinion and sharing with you my vision of a media agency. Thanks for the lunch. I won’t forget you guys!

Humans of NYC by Brandon Stanton

Let’s end this article with a bit of music…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LQ488QrqGE4

--

--