Meet My Coach, Davide Melli

katherine.koecheler@mediacontacts.com
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2016

It’s hard to believe that my time in Milan is quickly coming to an end. This has been an opportunity of a lifetime. I’ve formed new relationships that have become friendships, I’ve met with influential people across the entire Havas Milan village, and I’ve learned things that will only continue to help evolve my career for the long term.

My experience wouldn’t be nearly as amazing if it weren’t for the Havas Milan strategy team, especially my coach, Davide Melli. He is passionate about Havas and truly believes in the vision of Stefano Spadini and the Milan office. I asked him a few questions to hopefully better illustrate to you these passion points.

MEET DAVIDE MELLI:
Job Title: Strategy Lead

1. What is your role at the agency?

Define the best communication strategies for the clients: media KPI definition and objectives; definition and optimization of budget setting and media planning; target media definition: understanding consumer’s needs and define the best touchpoints

2. What is your vision for Havas Milan in the next five years?

I think Havas could represent a point of reference for other media agencies thanks to the Village Vision; I think that the “power” of working together with other agencies of Advertising (HSE, Creatives, PR) could represent a strong asset for the Client’s needs.

3. Explain the dynamic of the strategy team and what their role is to the larger agency?

I think that Strategy Team is one the more important departments because in a world ruled by Big Data, the “human thinking” can make the difference. Every Media Agency has its proprietary tools, but the “know how” of people is key. Strategy is the starting point of the global process.

4. What is a favorite client/project that you have worked on during your career and explain how it came to life.

3 years ago I worked on a global pitch for a launch for a Non-Alcoholic Beer. It was a very challenging brief from a local client who was very enthusiastic of our approach from both a media perspective and a business marketing perspective. For example, the client wanted our team to do everything from define the price for the launch; the size of the can; the distribution to the overall packaging concept. The whole marketing mix and being consistent with the media strategy was absolutely key. The feedback was: “Great, I can never launch a Non-Alcoholic Beer in Italy — but if in the future I decide to do so, I would absolutely go with your agency”.

This exercise really made our team think about the big picture and how everything works together to drive sales. Despite not having the ultimate outcome we were looking for (winning the business), it helped our team learn and grow from all the hard work put into the pitch.

5. Who is someone you look up to (mentor) and why?

The Chief Strategy Director from my previous role because he is full of Passion for this job. I think that Passion drives Success.

6. What motivates you to do the best you can?

Passion and team building

7. What are some of the highlights to being a coach for the Havas Loft program?

Sharing our personal expertise; being in human contact with other Havas people; Understanding people’s needs and trying to incorporate them as part of the team. Without a common goal there is no Success.

Havas Milan Strategy team + Best meal I’ve had to date

--

--