This image was strictly uploaded so that my post would have an image thumbnail. Alcoholic beverages not necessarily related to “Networking.”

“Networking”

Melissa Ploysophon
havas lofts

--

One of our objectives for Havas Lofts was to network and make as many connections as we could. At first, I was little nervous —What if nobody wants to talk to me? What if they don’t like me? This could be awkward. I didn’t want to force connections with people. After all, the French are cold and rude right?

Wrong.

I found the complete opposite to be true. Saying goodbye on my last day at the agency was definitely bittersweet. As I sat down to write a few thank you notes, I realized that this wasn’t the typical It’s-been-a-pleasure-working-with-you-Please-keep-in-touch kind of thing. I had worked with these (great) people over the last month and was just beginning to build relationships with them. We finally understood each other’s senses of humors and were able to make jokes with one another. (Laughter is key!) I felt like I belonged, and sadly it all had to end.

Looking back, I don’t know why I was worried I wouldn’t make any meaningful connections. Now, not only do I recognize them as my peers in the Havas network, but also mes amis. I’m walking away learning more than I could have ever imagined from some awesome creatives, account people, editors, producers, etc. I have a refreshed outlook on our industry and more so, see how similar we all actually are. Networking took on a whole new meaning for me. It’s more than just an exchange of business cards.

So allow me to get a little sentimental… I can honestly say that it has been a true pleasure working with everyone at Les Gaulois. And please do keep in touch. I couldn’t have imagined a better experience with better people.

-Melissa

--

--