Once, back in the day, I wanted to be an architect…

Sofia Abrantes
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readNov 9, 2018

Those who have known me since childhood, know fully well that I have always wanted to be an architect. But, as soon as I finished my first year in university, I thought … “No, this is not for me!”

Well, a long story goes between that moment and the time I finally started to work at a media agency, but I am sure you don’t want to read about “The Career Doubts of a Young Woman”.

This dull introduction is just to tell you about my last weekend, when I had the opportunity to visit one of the most beautiful buildings in modern architecture: the Louvre Museum, in Abu Dhabi, designed by Jean Nouvel. AMAZING!

Suddenly, I was back in the 90’s with my fixation on becoming a famous architect that I envisaged as someone who would go around taking pictures and always drawing in a sketchbook and… Oh, well, the dream started to fade as soon as I boarded the bus back to Dubai. :)

Back to reality, then! Media is my life and learning Digital was the main KPI I set for this program. Also, Alejandro is not here to mess around! So, during the past week I met with the Digital Ninjas of Havas Media Dubai:

Jocelyn Le Trionnaire, “the newest guy in the company”, who came here to join the digital team of Emirates’ Account as Director of Programmatic for this important client;

David do Rosário, the French-Portuguese, or what we, the portuguese, call, the “Avec”, sometimes also known as“ The Boss”, who is the Head of Digital Specialties, that manages all the Pure Players;

And the Mary Anne and Kamal duo, for whom “GA, data & dashboards are not a mystery”. I was pleased to attend a training taught by them, with Swarovski client, where I deepened my knowledge of Google Analytics.

On top of that, I spent the past two days with Viktor, who told me about the newest Google products, Benjamin, who taught me the advantages of Mobext, and last, but not least, Sujeet, “the one who knows everything about social media.

“And Sofia, if you still have some doubts… you should read this book!”

Can you imagine the terabytes of information my brain is holding right now? No easy task, I can tell you!

In the same breath, on Wednesday, we had Chloe’s farewell party. She is leaving Havas Media to join Nissan and I wish her all the best in this new project!

And by the week’s end, we still made time to celebrate Diwali, India’s biggest and most important holiday of the year!

How much more can you squeeze into seven days’ time?

--

--