Rupture or continuity ?

mathilde.vanaldervelt
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2015

I was lucky to meet people from paid search, SEO, publishing, web narrative, DBI, etc. A very digital adventure! If I had to summurise my experience, I would underline these 3 main points.

A wall in the open space

Point 1 : Data driven

As in France, Data is everywhere. I’ll keep it short but straight to the point with these three examples:

  • On the publishing department, their slogan is “Don’t buy the plan, plan the buy” - an audience centric way of thinking.
  • I attended a data driven personalization conference with DBI.
  • The Paid Search department (the best — I am very objective (I am a Paid Search manager)) develop lot of bespoke data strategies for their clients: local, PPC vs SEO, mobile, TV/PPC etc
  • From the SEO side I attended one of their weekly SEO Knowledge Share Session where I learnt which are the metrics to look at when assessing the quality of a site’s link profile.

Point 2 : Mobile advance

One of the Web Narrative people ( in short, department in charge of site development) said to me about their site strategies we build mobile site first and then desktop”. From my point of view, it is the best way to be “on advance” on the media market. In England, mobile traffic represents more than 50–60% of total traffic to a site. It’s huge! In France, we are a little bit lagging behind with only with only 30%-50%… We have to fill the gap quickly!

Point 3: A human experience

I will miss Havas breakfasts, music in the open space, Friday beers at 4pm and all people I was lucky to meet…

And one last and dedicated word : I’ve met others lofters (from Boston, NYC, Sydney and Paris). It was so amazing to share our havaslofts experiences. Thanks to them I’ve discovered a bit of the US and Australian cultures!

London HavasLofters #thirdclass

To conclude and to answer question in the title: no rupture but continuity for sure. Sharing and discussing are the best ways to build our future #havastogether ! Havaslofts is a good way to develop our open-minded spirit!

--

--