S01E04 — New York never sleeps

Margot Helfter
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJul 6, 2017

Here we are, it’s already the end of this amazing story! It went by so fast. I wish I could stay here one or two months more to keep working and discovering this crazy city, but it’s time to go back home with a lot of memories in my suitcase. Here are 6 things I’ve learned here.

1/ New York never Sleeps

There is always something going on, even at 3 o’clock in the morning. Especially during the summertime you can always find a concert, party, event or parade happening. If you come here, don’t let yourself get FOMO. Do as much as you can, but don’t forget to sleep sometimes! Here is the film I made with all of the footage I shot during this month. It is a good representation of the energy, diversity & strength of this city.

2/ Get the Positive Attitude

It’s one of the most important things I will bring back home. Here, you always begin by talking about the good in your work and what you did well before diving into what could be improved in the future. It’s funny because in France, my favorite phrase to start a debrief with is, “that’s not too bad.” :)

3/ Get out of your Comfort Zone

Different language, different people, different clients, different process. Everything is different. Havas Lofts is definitely the program to challenge yourself. I have learned so many things during this month, not just about work but about myself. Take the first step, accept you won’t understand everything, learn how people work, don’t be shy, talk to people… I sometimes felt like I had to learn from scratch, which was a bit difficult at first, but it made me that much prouder of myself when one of my ideas was selected!

4/ Bring Good Shoes

Because you will walk. A lot. New York is very big, but it’s so nice to walk around and continually discover new things. In one month, I walked an average of 10km per day and 20km during the weekend. I’ve been all around, even to the beach!

5/ Become a New-Yorker

In one month, you have time to get familiar with the city, the people, the way of life and the sounds. During the first two weeks I could not sleep without earplugs but now, with the klaxon noises and police sirens seeming normal to me, I sleep like a baby! Even the subway holds almost no secrets from me anymore (even if they always change the stops!)

6/ Meet Great People

Havas Lofts is definitely a great way to get involved in the life of the agency, and I’m so thankful for all of the people who have taken care of me during this month: Dorothy, Julian, LP, Kate, Mason, Mike, Joseph, Lee, Matt, Blake, Chloé, Amber, Anne…

And of course, my fellow Lofters: Nicolas, James and Charlotte.

Lastly, to all the New-Yorkers I met who are so open-minded and welcoming, I’ll love you forever!

--

--