Season 1. Welcome to Boston!

Giovanna Martin
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 16, 2017
Old State House

I made it. I’m in Boston. And the States will be mine for the next four weeks.

Season1. Chapter 0. Arrival from Barcelona.

After a 10 hour flight, I finally got to Boston! I didn’t realize the airport was so close to downtown, so on my way to my new home I just had 15 minutes to look up and see a piece of the city. It was an exciting teaser of the weeks to come.

Season1. Chapter 1. Moving to Boston.

Once in my apartment I felt too exhausted to unpack, but super excited to go out and look around my new neighborhood. I went out to the street and I couldn’t believe what I was seeing! The Havas Logo was welcoming me just a few meters from my eyes. Later, I realized l that I could see the Boston Village from my bed!! And as a bit of a sleepyhead, this was awesome!

View from my bed. Boston Havas Village in the building on the left.

I’m very happy because my apartment is located in the heart of downtown Boston and I have lots of stores, supermarkets, restaurants and “The T” (this is what the subway is called by Bostonians) nearby. So, it’s very easy to go around and get to work every day (just 2 minutes from door to door!). Here I don’t have to be worried about riding my motorbike into the daily Barcelona traffic jam, but I do have to fight with my sleepy head every morning!

Challenge for next week: Going out for a run before work to get some exercise and be awake!

Season1. Chapter 2. Walking around and exploring Boston (as an observer).

It was Sunday at 6am and jetlag didn’t want to be my friend, but I’m grateful for this because I could take advantage of the good weather and get lost wandering around the city. Boston Common, just 2 minutes from my apartment, was the first stop. Then, I walked across the Charles River and I was very impressed by how many things people can do outdoors. I come from a warm place so we are very used to doing activities outside during the whole year, but I believe we don’t really appreciate the good weather as Bostonians do. In only one week of walking around, I’ve seen thousands of runners (and running races), kayaking, yoga, pilates, concerts, flea markets… and this is just the beginning.

Challenge for next week: Getting involved with outdoors activities.

Season1. Chapter 3. Great to meet you, Boston Village!

During my first week in Boston, I’ve had the opportunity to meet a lot of welcoming people. My coach has been super warm and friendly, and he has introduced me to a lot of people in the Village. Through this, I have learned how all of the different areas here operate, especially the Socialyse team and how they are working in paid social strategies and campaigns. In Barcelona, I work on the creative side but I don’t know the “backstage” of media campaigns so that’s what makes my time here more interesting. There are many details behind the 48-hour minimum to build up and activate a campaign that I didn’t understand before coming!

Huge welcoming!

Hopefully, I’m going to learn “all the ingredients for the sauce” throughout the next few weeks in this awesome Boston Village (“awesome” is one of my top 10 English words). I’m thrilled to be in this office, located around huge skyscrapers, with a super trendy design that makes work much more inspirational.

Burnham Cafe rooftop, “The Patio”

Actually, I’m writing this post in Burnham Cafe, a multi-use space where all important announcements, events and activities take place. And the best part is there’s a beer tap for after work. So, let’s GO!

Challenge for next week: Writing my second post in “the Patio” of the Burnham.

--

--