See you soon guys !

Elsa Chiquello
havas lofts
Published in
4 min readJun 26, 2019

Is it over already? The Lofts program has gone so fast, I don’t even know where the 4 weeks went !

For my first post, I wondered if I would become a real New-Yorker in a month. Let’s summarize to see !

AN INSIDER INTO SOCIALYSE NEW-YORK

As Social Media is more and more needed in brands’ communication strategies, Socialyse NYC is growing as well. With a very strong experience on media, the agency is now solidly moving on Influence Marketing.

As I get to work on a specific Pharma focused Influence Marketing 101, it is quite interesting to see the differences that exist between USA and France. In France, advertising is only possible for over the counter drugs, while in the USA, every drug and medical action is advertisable, from pain killers to esthetic surgery or diabetes treatments. It has been challenging to understand the possibilities, as everything that seemed obviously impossible for me was indeed possible.

I’m so glad that I’ve been able to work with the strategic team here and especially with Ross and Shar. They took the time to help me understand how Socialyse works here and to let me help them work on some Influence and strategic presentations. They made me comfortable and feel like part of the team ! Also, I’ve met some French people who showed me the best places to lunch around the office, thanks again for the advice & the good company Alice, Ben & Elliot !

I have to say that I’ll miss the office in the center of Tribeca, close to SoHo and Chinatown. This is the biggest difference from the Paris office, which is not actually in Paris. But, we have a direct view on the Eiffel Tower, so we can’t complain !

A FRENCH DISGUISED AS A NEW-YORKER

Remember in my first blog post when I said that New-York was a walking experience ? Well, in only 20 days, I can proudly say I’ve walked 280 km (= 174 miles) ! With 20km/day on weekends strolling into every district of the island, it’s easy after all.

So, can I tell that I am a New-Yorker ?

· Drinking iced latte / green juices / bubble tea / iced tea outside ? check ✓
· Spending Sundays chilling at Central Park ? check ✓
· Partying in Brooklyn lofts ? check ✓
· Being friendly and complimenting someone randomly in the street ? check ✓
· Having brunch and drinks on rooftops ? check ✓
· Seeing some amazing street art in the streets ? check ✓
· Surviving the freezing AC without having a cold ? check ✓
· Eating hot dog, pizza (salads too!) and been to Shake Shack ? check ✓
· Running on the Hudson riverside ? check ✓
· Meeting dinosaurs and learning more about the Big Bang at the American Museum of Natural History ? check ✓
· Making some new friends by talking with strangers in the street ? check ✓
· Seeing celebrities in the street ? check ✓
· Having favorite districts ? check ✓ (basically West Village)
· Being annoyed by the slow tourists strolling on the High Line ? check ✓

I’m sure you will agree with me when I say that I can consider myself half a New-Yorker now !

Oh are they behind me ?? (can you see the excitement in my eyes ?)

SEE YOU SOON GUYS

When I look back at the past few weeks, I am amazed by the people I’ve met, all I had the chance to see, the culture, the food, the city and the life here. It is an extraordinary experience, and I’m really thankful to Havas for giving me this opportunity !

As someone rather shy and introverted, the program has allowed me to be more confident. Also, I am so glad for the improvement of my English, as now I’m thinking in English and have less hesitation speaking. Victory !

It is with emotions that I’m saying good-bye and, hopefully, see you soon ! ❤

--

--