The Brilliant Bunch

Hailee Alexandra
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2018

Out in London I’ve been placed with the best team at HKX, the JUMP team. They specialize in partnerships and content creation. We are based on the first floor in the HKX building, in the area called “Socialyze”.

My mentor is Chloe Smith and she has been nothing short of AMAZING. Her and I meet quite frequently to go over learning objectives and discuss ideas that would be useful for me to share back with my home office. She’s a registered badass at HKX and is the one of the most kind and compassionate people I’ve known. She’s worked with top brands out here such as O2, AXA, Pernot Ricard, Emirates, Beats by Dre and so much more. Fun fact about Chloe, she has twins! She has two daughters who are fraternal twins that she absolutely adores. I cracked up when I found out since it’s a running joke at Havas that everyone has twins. Four of my coworkers back home have twins, and another three of them are actually a twin or triplet themselves!

The JUMP team has such a unique working style that is so collaborative and inspiring. They often conduct “brainstorm” sessions where they all leave their desks and meet in a room to conceptualize content or partnership opportunities relevant to the campaign they are working on for a particular brand.

Below is a sneak photo I captured of them amidst a brainstorm for Absolute Vodka. That’s Scott to your left, Adam (or “Ads”) in the middle and Chloe on the right.

We huddled up to spit-ball some amazing concepts for a new campaign that Absolute is launching. The energy in this room was amazing, everyone had such great ideas and the creative juices kept flowing as they continued to piggy-back and build off of each other.

The biggest takeaway I got out of this brainstorm was how important it is to be open and not hinder anyone’s creativity. Nick Wright, the big boss of the JUMP team, was responsible for keeping the energy alive in the room. As each person started spouting off ideas, he collaborated them all and not once did he look down on any of the ideas. He was just as intrigued by the first ideas as he was by the last idea and I feel that played, and still plays, a huge role on their success.

--

--