Well, I wasn’t expecting this…

Rebecca Basi
havas lofts
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2017
#deskviews

It’s been nearly a week that I moved from the Havas office at King & Portland to King & Clarence.

How far are they from one another, you ask? A few blocks? Across the city?

Nope.

In fact, I am 68,171 blocks away from my home office in Havas Toronto; currently hanging out with my colleagues in Havas Sydney for four weeks (!!!).

As far as change goes, of course it was going to be wildly different. The office, people, teams, work, processes, tools, weather… the list goes on. And I can’t wait to dig in further with each of these items over the course of the next four weeks in more depth. Spoiler alert: Havas Sydney is [insert flexed bicep emoji here].

But what I wasn’t expecting was the value in meeting and connecting with my fellow Lofters. Joining me on this experience are colleagues from Havas Spain, France and the United States. Over these past few days, we have spent a lot of time together, getting to know each other and our work with Havas. Not to mention how incredibly excited we all are to be participating in the Havas Lofts fall class!

Together, we have swapped notes on our host city’s agency offering, client work and successes. We’ve also been talking shop on our respective agency offering and client work across four sister companies: Plastic Mobile, Rosapark, Socialyse and Havas Media. Did you know that we have a dedicated influencer marketing practice within our network? Or that the Spain office has built a cafe and cinema INSIDE their office? I sure didn’t.

But above and beyond all this, we’ve also had conversations around the unfortunate events happening back home — politically, socially and culturally — most of which have hit the international newsstands. Is there actually more happening in the world or are we just more aware of it? We couldn’t decide either.

That being said, I look forward to learning more from my fellow Lofters and even more from my coach and colleagues at Havas Sydney.

More to come!

--

--

Rebecca Basi
havas lofts

Director, Marketing & Business Development @ Havas Toronto