Who Ordered American Takeaway?

kitty graham
havas lofts
Published in
3 min readNov 19, 2018

21 days, 73 meals and 441,734 steps later and here we are at the final week of Lofts. It’s tough to try and summarise the experience of the last month in a single blog post, especially when each day has been different and exciting. But, along with the incredible memories, there are 3 souvenirs I’ll be taking back with me to London:

Perspective

Repetition of something can elevate it to an even more iconic status. Take the Campbell’s soup cans of Andy Warhol, which I experienced in the flesh at the Whitney Museum during my visit. He was obsessed with the idea of branding, both of everyday objects and of people; stars such as Monroe. But by taking something you recognise and echoing it over and over, often changing a certain element, eg; colour (his pink cows) or scale (enormous flower prints), he forces us to view it in a new light.

Andy Warhol, Campbell’s Soup Cans

This is how I see the Lofts experience, as it presented the opportunity to take a step back from day-to-day work and view the industry, the company and my role from a different context. Being free from the inevitable pressures of day-to-day work created space & time to ask more questions, be more curious & be more present. Essentially, to immerse into the host agency life and leave with a wider understanding of the agency and a fresh perspective.

Inspiration

Since arriving in this city, I’ve been amazed by the diversity of what I’ve seen around me. Out in the city it’s the architecture, styles of food, the varied culture, so much of it that I find it hard not to be inspired here. The more time I spend in NY, the more I realise there’s something for everyone. It’s fast-paced, but there’s also areas that slow things down. There’s subcultures, each district with a unique vibe and style.

Likewise, within the Havas New York Village there’s teams for everything, whether it’s creative, connections planning, investments teams or strategy & insights. And within those teams, diversity is key to this. During my time here, I’ve been lucky enough to sit down 1-on-1 with people throughout the agency and talk about how they got there. What struck me was the variation of different paths of discovery, and how many of the different members of the teams adapted their progression to fit their skills and interests.

Connection

From the offset, the people I’ve met within the agency have all been approachable and generous spirited. They’ve smiled, shared, invited and welcomed me, giving up their precious time to share their knowledge. My mentor Jill, and the Strategy team, were instrumental in helping me set up meetings with everyone throughout the agency that might be useful for me to chat with.

Keith and the Global Talent Team, who work so hard on getting the Lofts program up and running made us feel at home instantly! Then there’s my pod-pal Ahsan, who was always there to share his stories and experiences in between emailing.

Last, but certainly not least, I’ve been lucky enough to share this experience with my fellow Lofters. Despite our different backgrounds,(she’s French Algerian and lives in Paris), both myself and Imane share an obsession for food and fashion, so we bonded instantly — I’ve made a friend for life. It’s all about nailing your niche and finding your people, wherever you are in the world, and making strong connections.

Hitting up Central Park Sunset with Imane

To everyone who I met, to all that helped with the program — THANK YOU for the most incredible and memorable experience!

--

--