Image by Samantha Fang, @sweetnsam_

Homeland

Home is not a place, but a feeling…

Alicia Chow
2 min readAug 10, 2020

--

三杯面粉对一杯水,my grandma instructs

Reverting to gravelly mother tongue in a drowning Florida

My mother learns this craft with me — three generations

pinching flour and water together

Two pairs of clumsy fingers turning clever

One satisfied family, feasting

Hawaiian suns shine through the window facing Mauna Kea

On palms shaping rough dough into something of magic

Massaging simple ingredients into flesh-warmed skin

揉两百次。。。 sore hands become strong

Firm and supple, life-giving

Roll wrappers to hold spiced meat and egg

(一定要放姜,去腥)

Tasting like only home can

On the 19th floor watching fireworks

the kitchen bustles with laughter as flour gets everywhere

becoming dumplings bursting with as much flavor and color

as the sky I haven’t seen for years

Roasting my dad to keep warm in smoky winter

Click-clacking mahjong tiles, green felt

We felt every bit of weariness leave us

Left behind in the old years we once lived

Unfamiliar territory, too much to bear

still my hands do the work

Kneading because someone needs to

I breathe new life into this cold kitchen

Following the hands that taught me years ago

Bring this life back to new California

一,二,三。。。两百次

Each time missing the noise and warmth of years ago

Later I eat two plates of dumplings

Mother scolding me over the phone (she thinks I’ll get fat)

Fat off the food of my people

Nourishing, revitalizing

Home

--

--

Alicia Chow
Have You Eaten Yet?

Eating since 1999, writing since I learned how to! Usually based in the Bay Area, currently based in Hong Kong. Passionate about anything food-related!