Team Hawk-Eye: The People Podcast

Will Davies
Hawk-Eye Innovations
4 min readOct 28, 2021

Episode 6: What a Student Placement at Hawk-Eye has taught me

Hi there — I’m Will (Talent Acquisition Manager — Global Operations) and I’m back for the sixth instalment of Team Hawk-Eye: The People Podcast Blog. Each month I’m talking to one of our amazing team members so that we can give you insight into what it’s like to be a part of Hawk-Eye. If you didn’t catch the last one, you can find it here: https://lnkd.in/ekpupiqX.

This episode features one of our awesome Student Placement Operators, Ross Cohen, who reflects back on some of the many highlights he’s taken away from his Student Placement with Hawk-Eye. See below. To listen to the latest instalment of The People Podcast:

Ross’ Hawk-Eye Year in Industry Highlights:

“When the Covid pandemic began, there was fading hope my placement with Hawk-Eye Innovations would go ahead. But little did I know how quickly the professional sports industry would bounce back and how Hawk-Eye Innovations would keep up with the demand.

From Thailand to Monaco, Rome to Tokyo, this year really did take me globetrotting. In fact, I did more travelling in the last 12 months than I could have ever imagined! But travel doesn’t come without challenges. Language barriers, working expectations and cultural differences were all barriers I had to face when working on site. They required immense amounts of patience, understanding, initiative and confidence to guarantee service delivery and successful operations.

Looking back to before my placement, working at Premier League and Championship football matches, assisting with VAR and Goal Line Technology gave me a fantastic foundation to kick start my year. A huge thanks goes to Will Davies for the opportunity and for the smooth application process throughout.

Having the opportunity to work with the SMART Production Team on the tennis clay tour throughout the year taught me a great lesson about myself. Sometimes you might think you’re terrible at something, but you never know until you give it a go! Thinking I was a horrible multi-tasker was an excuse I’d used for years, but it wasn’t until I was solo directing and producing an ATP tennis match for live TV that I realised it was just an excuse and nothing more! Thank you to Faye Curran and Marcus Ahye for facilitating this.

The largest portion of my year was spent providing the Line Calling and SMART Replay services at Badminton and Volleyball competitions. Being able to apply learnings from my degree to real-life uses of tracking technologies was fascinating. Seeing how triangulation, dynamics and a very clever system can have such a meaningful impact on sport was incredibly rewarding and operating such a system was an experience like no other. Working with officials brings immense pressure, but being pushed outside of your comfort zone is by far the most efficient and effective way to learn and grow.

Looking back at what I have achieved this year, what I have been exposed to and how I have grown, I now have great confidence that I can be resilient and independent when necessary, but also a great team member and manager when required. I am incredibly thankful to everyone I worked alongside, my colleagues in the Badminton and Volleyball department, especially General Manager David Laumann and Director Chris Abbott for having such an impact on my year and pushing me to where I am now. With these skills, I have no doubt that I can not only excel in my professional career but also be a step ahead of the game when it comes to taking on new challenges. For now though, it’s back to University of Leeds for my final year!”

Vacancies:

If you’d like to apply, good news, we have plenty of vacancies for you. Check them out:

--

--