MBB: Hawkeyes Pummel Stetson 95–68, Ready Themselves for Iowa State

Hawkeyes Mic LLC
Hawkeyes Mic
Published in
3 min readDec 6, 2016

Iowa City, Iowa — In one of their most complete performances of the young year, the Hawkeyes topped the Hatters of Stetson 95–68.

Isaiah Moss and Cordell Pemsl led the charge offensively, each scoring 21 points. Moss continued his hot shooting as of late, setting his new career high on 8–13 from the field, including 5–8 from distance.

“I had a lot of confidence in my three,” Moss said. “Coach just told me keep shooting it, so that’s what I did.”

Pemsl bullied his way to his career high, doing his damage in the paint and finishing through contact en route to 9–11 shooting. The freshman is shooting 23–27 from the field since being inserted into the starting lineup.

“I’ve just been taking shots that I know I can make,” Pemsl said of his sky-high field goal percentage. “I’ve been working on sealing and getting good positioning, and when I’ve gotten the ball I’ve been effective.”

Peter Jok struggled from the field, as the senior had 15 points on 4–13 shooting, but showed his well-rounded game. Jok flirted with a triple-double before being taken out once the game was in hand, as he stuffed the stat sheet with eight rebounds and seven assists.

“You look tonight and he’s got seven assists, no (turnovers), eight rebounds,” McCaffery praised his star player. “He had ten rebounds in the last game. Any coach is going to be proud of that from your senior leader.”

Ahmad Wagner got his first career start in place of Nicholas Baer, who provided a spark off the bench with seven points and five rebounds. Wagner was involved early, and ended the game with eight points and six rebounds. Wagner suffered a frightening fall in the second half that looked ugly, but was cleared to return to the game had he been needed.

Wagner told reporters he’ll be fine to play in the team’s next game.

“It’s sore right now. I thought I was going back in the game, so they kept me running up the hallway and on the bike,” Wagner said. “Then as soon as I sat on the bench, my adrenaline kind of went down, and that’s when the pain kind of started hurting. But I’m okay.”

The Hawkeyes will next be in action in Carver Hawkeye Arena on Thursday night when they host rival Iowa State. The Cyclones will pose a tough test for a young Iowa team fighting injuries, and the Hawkeyes will need to be at their best to earn in-state bragging rights.

McCaffery stressed the importance of defending the three-point line against a potent Iowa State team.

“We have to be locked in, that’s for sure,” the head coach said of Thursday’s showdown. “We’ll start (preparing) tonight.”

By Jack Brandsgard — Posted 12/5/16

HawkeyesMic.com

Podcasting 10 Years of Original Programming on Iowa Athletics

--

--

Hawkeyes Mic LLC
Hawkeyes Mic

Iowa Hawkeyes; Iowa Sports Podcasts; Sports Talk Radio on the Internet; University of Iowa Athletics. Big Ten Conference. NCAA. One Passion, Many Voices.