Now I’m a Warrior, too.

Rachel Hanrahan
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
3 min readJan 24, 2017

My favorite piece of clothing, without a doubt, is a gift I received for Christmas this past year. As I unwrapped the dark green wrapping paper decorated with Santa’s everywhere, I had no idea what I was about to open would change my life. At first, all I saw was a light grey colored material; and when I felt it, it was soft. As I unfolded what turned out to be a crewneck with graphics all over the place, it finally clicked to me that the pictures imprinted on the sweatshirt were of all Demi Lovato’s tattoos in sync with where they’re placed on her own body.

FRONT OF CREWNECK. PHOTO CREDIT: RACHEL HANRAHAN

Printed across the wrists of the sweatshirt says “Stay Strong” with a flower accompanying the word “Stay” on the left wrist and a small, Demi Lovato signature heart next to the word “Strong” on the right wrist. On the opposite side of the left wrist on the sleeve is the roman numeral III. On the right hand of the sleeve is a black cross made up of two thin, intersecting straight lines. Lining the forearm of the right sleeve is the word “faith” and twelve tiny black birds flying toward the cross. On the inner side of the upper right sleeve is an outline of the shape of Africa. There’s a quote from the song “Beautiful” by Bethany Dillon that says “You make me beautiful” on the right rib cage with two feathers cutting through the words. And on the left rib cage there are a set of five dates in roman numerals in a list-like order from top to bottom. Lastly the words “now I’m a warrior” are printed on the back left shoulder.

BACK LEFT SHOULDER OF CREWNECK. PHOTO CREDIT: RACHEL HANRAHAN

Anyone who know’s Demi Lovato, knows she has around a total of fourteen tattoos from head to toe — depending on how you count them. And for anyone who know’s me, knows that 1) Demi is my biggest inspiration and 2) I’m a tattoo addict as well. From her struggle with self-harm to eating disorders and everything in between, I feel as though I connect with Demi on a much deeper level. Her tattoos represent who she is, as I feel mine do for me. Because of her, now I’m a “warrior,” too and this simple gift is a reminder of that for me every day.

MY INSIDE LIP TATTOO. PHOTO CREDIT: RACHEL HANRAHAN

--

--

Rachel Hanrahan
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State

Staff Writer for Seamless Magazine at MSU. I’m a tattoo enthusiast, multi-philanthropist & aspiring NFL sports journalist.