Sporty Style: The Collision of Sports and Fashion

Brynn McDonald
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
3 min readJan 24, 2017

When it comes to clothes, what is your definition of comfort? Whether it may be a pair of jeans, your favorite hoodie, or an old beat-up t-shirt, everyone finds comfort in something different. Without a doubt, my favorite and most comfortable article or, in this case, articles of clothing, are my workout leggings and running tights. As a collegiate student-athlete, I am always running short on time, especially when it comes to getting ready. On a normal day, I may have 15 minutes in between practice and class to quickly throw something on, so it is a rare occasion when I “dress up” in what my teammates and I like to call “normal-people clothes”. Anyone can relate to the fantastic feeling of wearing your favorite clothing item, whether you like the way it feels or simply how it looks. When I am wearing a pair of Nike or Adidas running tights with a nice pair of sneakers, I feel like the most put-together person on the planet, while still being so unbelievably comfortable. The “sporty-fashionable” look is one I am very fond of, and wear almost every day. I did not even come across this sporty style until my senior year of high school, when Nike and Adidas sneakers and clothes became a must-have. Considering the fact that I have been an athlete my whole life, I had always owned these clothes, but had never thought to wear them any place other than practice or the gym! After I saw other people wearing workout clothes, I dug deep in my drawers and pulled out my beloved running tights and wore them constantly. You can definitely say I am more of a trend-follower than a trend-setter.

I have worked my entire life, and I love being able to buy new clothes now and then, but I have always been conscious of prices. Now, I may have mentioned Nike and Adidas which happen to be more expensive brands, but I love shopping for workout clothes at TJMaxx. I wish I was kidding when I say that I bought almost twenty pairs of running tights from the popular department store in the past two months. It may seem excessive (I am), and unnecessary (it is) but knowing that they would most likely be the only thing I wore for the spring semester, I figured I could splurge a little. The comfort I feel after throwing on the stretchy and soft leggings is completely worth it. The reason I mention TJMaxx though, is because of the insanely reasonable prices! Buying a pair of workout leggings from Nike may cost you 60 or 70 dollars, whereas TJMaxx has some less popular brands (but just as good quality!) for about twenty dollars. Being able to combine my athletic sense of style with some inexpensive clothing items while still feeling comfortable is most definitely a win-win situation for me.

--

--