The Diamond Necklace That Stole My Heart

Natasha Vega
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State
2 min readSep 20, 2016

Diamond Necklace

500 WORDS

By Natasha Vega

Diamond necklace placed on santa hat and star. Photo by Yolanda Vega

Ever since I was a little girl fashion has always been apart of my life. As the years pass, however, favorite articles of clothing become worn and hated and old jewelry gets replaced by a new favorite. But there is one accessory that has continued to be a favorite and that I continue to replace with new ones as time passes: diamond necklaces.

Diamonds have always caught my attention. As a child, like many other girls, I always used to dream of being a princess and diamonds made that dream seem closer to a reality. I was a huge Disney princess fan, with my favorite being Cinderella. The story of Cinderella showed young girls it doesn’t matter how rich you are or how you look on the outside, if you keep dreaming one day your dreams can come true.

It doesn’t matter how big or small a diamond necklace is or how the diamonds are displayed on a piece of jewelry, I love them all the same. I love how they sparkle in the sun, calling attention to them and to the person who ‘s wearing them.

The diamond necklace I currently have I wear almost every day. The diamond is small and octagonal and hangs on a thin silver necklace that sits right above my chest. It doesn’t make a big fashion statement, and from afar some may not even realize I have it around my neck, but this diamond necklace is not like any other I have ever had. This one is special because it was given to me on the first Christmas I spent with my boyfriend.

This diamond necklace not only signifies how much he cherishes me, but also how well he has come to know me. Every time I wear it, it reminds me of how much he loves me and of all the things he has done to keep me happy and make our relationship stronger. Yes, the diamond necklace is just a piece of jewelry, but for me it is so much more than that. It acts as a symbol of my relationship and of how far we have come since we first started dating. This diamond necklace even made my childhood dream of becoming a princess come true because to him, I will always and forever be his “princess”. I’ve learned that to be a princess you don’t need to live in a castle or have an unimaginable amount of wealth. All a princess really needs is a prince who will cherish her, protect her and who will be there for her no matter the circumstance. As bad as it may seem diamonds are really the key to my heart.

--

--

Natasha Vega
Hawk Talk @ Montclair State

Recent graduate of MSU with a BA in Communication and Media Arts. Former Program Director and DJ at WMSC.